Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

About the Council

The Translation Advisory Council is the result of HB 3021 passed by the State Legislature in 2021. Council members play an important role in the process of making voting accessible. The Council reviews translations to make sure they are accurate and retain the original tone and meaning in a culturally appropriate manner. The Council may also make recommendations to the Secretary on related matters as needed.

The Secretary of State is committed to ensuring that members of the Council represent the racial, ethnic, cultural, social, and geographic diversity found in Oregon. Members are not appointed on a partisan basis. The Council is comprised of five members appointed at large and multiple translator member positions who have proficiency in English and one of the Council languages. Members serve two-year terms and may be reappointed for a total of six years.

The Secretary of State accepts applications for vacancies on the Translation Advisory Council and appoints members from all past and current applicants. Applications are available on our Council Member Application page.

Oregon Administrative Rules describe the implementation of translations and the Translation Advisory Council. Rules are available in the Secretary of State Elections Division Administrative Rules, OAR 165-024-0005 through OAR 165-024-0030.

For additional questions, please contact the Secretary of State’s Elections Division at or 503-986-2312.

Council Members

Council Staff

Kelly Mills, Translation Policy Program Manager, 503-986-2312 or email.

Marsa Terrell, Administrative Specialist, 503-986-2312 or email.

Tamara Burkovskaia, Council Chair, 

Renee Liu, Council Vice Chair,