Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Renewing Your License

Consultant On-line Renewals are open after April 15th. Consultant licenses expire on May 31st. 

Preparer On-line Renewals are open after August 15th.  Preparer licenses expire on September 30th.

If you are having difficulties renewing your license please contact the Board office at (503) 378-4034.  Thank you.

 

License Renewal Fee $95
Initial License  $65
Combination Licenses  $155
LTC/Business Registration (Initial)  $125
Reactivation  $35
Inactive  $50

Tax consultants are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education related to tax law and tax preparation per year, at least two hours of which must be related to ethics or professional conduct.

Continuing Education (CE) must be completed during the 13 months prior to each license year. The same class may not be counted toward two different renewals. 

Consultant licenses expire on May 31 annually.  CE is acceptable from May 1 of the previous year to May 31 of the current renewal year, 13 months.

The Board audits licensees on a random basis to verify compliance with continuing-education requirements (OAR 800-015-0015). 

Continuing education is waived for the first renewal of a tax consultant.

Continuing-education credit will be accepted only if sponsors and courses comply with OAR 800-0150010, OAR 800-015-0020 and OAR 800-015-0030.

Acceptable continuing education is that which contributes directly to the expertise of the individual in the preparation of income tax returns, and is presented by a sponsor who meets the requirements of all Oregon Administrative Rules. 

Correspondence and self-study courses must be Board approved if not already approved by the California Tax Education Council (CTEC), Internal Revenue Service (IRS), or National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).

 

For additional information on acceptable continuing education and sponsors you can access information from the Boards website. ​

Branch Registration $20

A tax preparation business shall not operate any branch office until:
  • The tax preparation business has complied with all laws and rules of the Board concerning tax business registration;
  • The mailing address, physical address, e-mail, phone numbe(s) of the branch office, and the name and license number of the resident consultant for the branch office have been submitted to the Board; and
  • The tax preparation business has paid an annual fee for the branch office registration for that location as required under OAR 800-020-0025(19).
Branch office registrations shall expire annually on the expiration date of the associated tax business registration.
 
At least 30 calendar days before the expiration of a branch office registration, the Board shall attempt to notify each tax preparation business, using the contact information the tax preparation business has provided to the Board that their tax preparation branch office registration is up for renewal.
 
Renewal branch office registrations shall be issued to qualifying tax preparation businesses upon receipt of the required annual registration fee.
 
A tax preparation business operating branch offices shall notify the Board within 15 business days of:
  • Change of mailing address, physical address, e-mail address, or phone number(s) of the branch office.
  • Change in Resident Consultant and/or Designated Consultant of the branch office.
  • Closing the branch office.
Branch offices must be conducted under the same name as the principal office. This name and current registration shall be posted in public view in each branch office.
 
The name of the Designated Consultant and the name of the Resident Consultant must be posted in public view in each branch office.​​

License Renewal Fee  $80
Initial License  $60
Combination License  $155
LTP/Business Registration (Initial)  $110
Reactivation  $35
Inactive  $35


Tax preparers are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education related to tax law and tax preparation per year, at least two hours of which must be related to ethics or professional conduct. Tax preparers are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education related to tax law and tax preparation per year, at least two hours of which must be related to ethics or professional conduct.

Continuing Education (CE) must be completed during the 13 months prior to each license year. The same class may not be counted toward two different renewals. 

Preparer licenses expire on September 30 annually.  CE is acceptable from September 1 of the previous year to September 30 of the current renewal year, 13 months.

The Board audits licensees on a random basis to verify compliance with continuing-education requirements (OAR 800-015-0015). 

Continuing education is waived for the first renewal of a tax preparer.

Continuing-education credit will be accepted only if sponsors and courses comply with OAR 800-0150010, OAR 800-015-0020 and OAR 800-015-0030.
  
Acceptable continuing education is that which contributes directly to the expertise of the individual in the preparation of income tax returns, and is presented by a sponsor who meets the requirements of all Oregon Administrative Rules.
 
Correspondence and self-study courses must be Board approved if not already approved by the California Tax Education Council (CTEC), Internal Revenue Service (IRS), or National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).

For additional information on acceptable continuing education and sponsors you can access information from the Boards website. ​​

Tax Business Registration  $110

Tax preparation business registrations shall expire annually on June 15, except that combination tax preparation business registration/tax preparer licenses shall expire annually on October 15.

At least 30 calendar days prior to the registration expiration date each year, the Board shall attempt to notify each tax preparation business, using the contact information they provided to the Board, that their tax preparation business registration is up for renewal.

Renewal registrations shall be issued to a qualifying tax preparation business upon receipt and validation of a completed registration renewal application and the fee for registering a tax preparation business specified in OAR 800-020-0025(14) or the fee for a combined tax consultants or tax preparers license and tax preparation business registration specified in OAR 800-020-0025(15).

A tax preparation business whose registration has expired shall not perform tax preparation services for the public, for a fee, or offer such services until the tax business submits a new tax preparation business registration application and the application process has been completed.

Oregon Administrative Rule 800-025-0040 outlines the requirements of a Designated Consultant.  A tax preparation business shall not engage in preparation of personal income tax returns for the public until the business has designated a Licensed Tax Consultant or other authorized person as the responsible individual. The business registration form ahsll be signed by the Designated Consultant and signed by the owner or authorized representative of the tax preparation business.

Oregon Administrative Rule 800-025-0060 outlines the requirements of a Resident Consultant.  Each principal and branch office shall have a Resident Consultant physically present to conduct and carry out his/her duties in the principal or branch office for at least 50 percent of the time an office is open to the public for tax preparation, assistance, and advice during each week from January 1 to the federal filing deadline without extension and during each month for the remainder of the year for year round offices in accordance with OAR 800-025-0050. 


Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×