Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Department of Human Services Search Site

Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse

To report suspected child abuse, call 855-503-SAFE (7233).

What is mandatory reporting?

While everyone should report suspected abuse or neglect, some people in the community are required by law to make reports to authorities. These people are called mandatory reporters.

Children often can’t or won’t speak up if their parents, caregivers or other people are abusing them. They rely on you and others in the community to recognize when something isn’t right and to help protect them.

Mandatory reporters include many public and private officials like health care providers, law enforcement employees, school employees and members of the clergy. The full list of mandatory reporters is found in Oregon Revised Statute 419B.00​5​​​​.

Examples of mandatory reporters include:

  • Attorneys
  • Certified foster care providers and their employees
  • Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)
  • Elected officials in Oregon and members of state boards or commissions
  • Emergency medical services providers and firefighters
  • Employees of the Oregon Department of Human Services, Oregon Health Authority, Early Learning Division, Department of Education, Oregon Youth Authority, local health department, community mental health program, community developmental disabilities program, county juvenile department, or alcohol and drug treatment programs.
  • Health care providers including doctors, nurses, physician’s assistants, home health workers, naturopaths, chiropractors, dentists and optometrists
  • Law enforcement agency employees
  • Members of a school district board, an education service district board or a public charter school governing body
  • Members of the clergy
  • Nursing home employees and contractors
  • Psychologists, regulated social workers, licensed professional counselors and marriage and family therapists
  • Registered child care providers
  • School employees, including teachers and employees of higher education
  • Senior center employees
  • ​Therapists including physical therapists, speech therapists, occupational therapists, audiologists, speech language pathologists

If you are a mandatory reporter, you must report suspicions of child abuse or neglect to authorities. Call the abuse hotline at 855-503-SAFE (7233) to make a report. The hotline is open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Training for mandatory reporters


This 30-minute training video describes the role of mandatory reporters in reporting suspected abuse. It includes recognizing and understanding the signs of child abuse and neglect, as well as the roles implicit bias and structural racism can play when reporting abuse.


Video in other languages: 广东话 (Cantonese) | 普通话 (Mandarin) | Español (Spanish)

Download video

Request training

Use this online form to request mandatory reporter training in your community:

Mandatory reporter training request

Resources to report online sexual exploitation

  • Take It Down is a free service to help people remove or stop the online sharing of nude, partially nude or sexually explicit images or videos taken when they were under 18 years old.
  • is a free tool to support adult victims of Non-Consensual Intimate Image (NCII) abuse.