You are here:
Anyone engaged in wakeboarding or wake surfing on the Willamette River between river miles 30 and 50 (also known as the Newberg Pool) is required to carry a Towed Watersports Education Card.
This means anyone who is operating the boat needs to carry this card along with their Boater Education Card, even if they are not the owner of the boat.
Boat dealers are not exempt from the requirement for on-water demos.
To obtain a Towed Watersports Education Card, you must have your boater education card in Oregon or from another state and have passed the test associated with this study guide. Oregon does not accept out of state Towed Watersports Courses. You can access the application online or by request at the Oregon State Marine Board.
The study guide is available online as well as in-print with retailers and sheriff's offices. To request a free copy, please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your name and mailing address.
Currently, in-person testing is on hold per CDC social distancing guidance. Please email jessica.watson@oregon or leave a voicemail for callback at 503-378-2635 for remote testing options during this time.
Thank you for your understanding.
Per Oregon Revised Statutes, the card and decals need to be renewed every two calendar years. The cost is $60 and renewal fee is $60. The card and decals are non-transferrable.
In 2019, the Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 2352 that directed the Marine Board to create a Towed Watersports Education Program for wakeboarders and wake surfers on the Newberg Pool. This law went into effect on January 1, 2020.
If you would like to learn more about the Towed Watersports Education Program, please call the Oregon State Marine Board at 503-378-2635.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how