An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
The study guide is available online.
Per Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR 250-018-0200), the card and decals need to be renewed every two calendar years. The cost is $20 and the renewal fee is $20. The card and decals are non-transferrable.
In 2019, the Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 2352 directing the Marine Board to create a Towed Watersports Education Program for wakeboarders and wake surfers on the Newberg Pool. This law went into effect on January 1, 2020.
Senate Bill 1589, passed during the 2022 legislative session, made modifications to the Towed Watersports Program. In addition to prohibiting wake surfing in the Newberg Pool (Willamette Falls to the Yamhill River), it requires Towed Watersports Education for anyone engaged in towed watersports in this stretch of river. Boat owners must also apply for the Towed Watersports Education Certificate, which comes in the form of decals to be placed on the bow of the boat.
If you would like to learn more about the Towed Watersports Education Program, please email MariAnn McKenzie at email@example.com. To discuss the legislation, laws, and rules related to the Newberg Pool, please contact Josh Mulhollem at firstname.lastname@example.org.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how