Skip to main content

Offender Information

**New Reporting Requirements**
As a result of the 2019 legislative session HB2045B was signed into law resulting in two new sex offender reporting requirements that go into effect January 1, 2021. For more information regarding the upcoming changes, please seeNew Reporting Requirements Notice.pdfNew Reporting Requirements Notice.pdf for a brief overview, and visit Oregon HB2045 for full details.
 
Oregon Reporting Requirements
 
Please review Oregon Revised Statutes Chapter 163A for full details of the laws pertaining to Sex Offender Reporting Requirements.
 
Brief Summary of Requirements:
 
Sex offenders shall report in person to any local law enforcement agency in the county where he or she resides.
 
Initial Registration for Oregon residents:
  • Within 10 days following discharge, release on parole, post-prison supervision or other supervised or conditional release.
Additional reporting requirements:
  • Within 10 days (up to 10 days before and up to 10 days after) the offender's date of birth.
  • Within 10 days of any address change (includes a move out of state).
  • Within 10 days of starting employment or vocation at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of stopping/changing employment or vocation at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of starting enrollment/attendance at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of stopping/changing enrollment/attendance vocation at an institute of higher education.
 
Initial Registration for offenders moving to Oregon:
  • No later than 10 days of moving to Oregon.
Additional reporting requirements:
  • Within 10 days (up to 10 days before and up to 10 days after) the offender's date of birth.
  • Within 10 days of any address change (includes a move out of state).
  • Within 10 days of starting employment or vocation at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of stopping/changing employment or vocation at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of starting enrollment/attendance at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of stopping/changing enrollment/attendance vocation at an institute of higher education.
 
Initial Registration for offenders who live outside Oregon and attend school in Oregon:
  • No later than 10 days after the first day of school attendance.
Additional reporting requirements:
  • Within 10 days of starting employment or vocation at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of stopping/changing employment or vocation at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of starting enrollment/attendance at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of stopping/changing enrollment/attendance vocation at an institute of higher education.
 
Initial Registration for offenders who live outside Oregon and are employed or volunteer in Oregon:
  • No later than 10 days after the 14th day of employment or vocation in Oregon.
Additional reporting requirements:
  • Within 10 days of starting employment or vocation at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of stopping/changing employment or vocation at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of starting enrollment/attendance at an institute of higher education.
  • Within 10 days of stopping/changing enrollment/attendance vocation at an institute of higher education.
 
Further details can be found under the following statutes:
 
Who is required to register?
 
Definitions of a "sex offender" and terms used in the laws below.
When are offenders required to register?
  • 2017 ORS 163A.010¹: Sex offender discharged, paroled or released from correctional facility or another U.S. jurisdiction 
  • 2017 ORS 163A.015¹: Sex offender discharged, released or placed on probation by court or another U.S. jurisdiction 
  • 2017 ORS 163A.020¹: Upon moving into state -reporting by certain nonresidents and certain residents  
Do sex offenders with juvenile adjudications have to register?
 
Please refer to the laws below and contact the Oregon Youth Authority (OYA) for additional information.
By law*, we assess a $70 annual registration fee to offenders in the Registry who are not under supervision as required by Oregon Revised Statute 163A.035​.

Invoices are sent to offenders annually. Payments are due within 30 days of receipt of the invoice.

*ORS 163A.035​ (formerly 181.810), “The department (Oregon State Police) shall assess a person who is required to report (as a sex offender) under ORS 163A.010, 163A.015, 163A.020 or 163A.025​ and who is not under supervision a fee of $70 each year.”

Pay with Credit/Debit Card by Phone: 
Call the Invoicing Line at 503-934-0025
Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm (except holidays).

Pay with Check/Money Order by Mail:
Checks or money order payable to Oregon State Police. 
Include your SID# or Invoice#

Mail to:  
Oregon State Police, Unit #08
PO Box 4395
Portland, OR 97208
**New Reporting Requirements**
As a result of the 2019 legislative session HB2045B was signed into law resulting in two new sex offender reporting requirements that go into effect January 1, 2021. For more information regarding the upcoming changes, please seeNew Reporting Requirements Notice.pdfNew Reporting Requirements Notice.pdf for a brief overview, and visit Oregon HB2045 for full details.
 
The “International Megan's Law to Prevent Child Exploitation and Other Sexual Crimes Through Advanced Notification of Traveling Sex Offenders” was signed into law on February 8, 2016 by President Obama. The law requires states to notify foreign governments when a citizen of the United States (who is registered as a sex offender for sexual offense(s) involving a minor) is going to be traveling to their country.
 
The websites below provide additional information regarding the new law, including but not limited to: How to stay compliant with the federal requirement; who will be affected by this change; the new passport identifiers and potential travel restrictions; offender resources and complaint/appeal options; what information can/will be shared amongst agencies; and contact information for additional questions.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
"Helping Felons Get Employed Again"
 
 
 
 
 
Oregon Secretary of State
 
“More information about fair housing laws is available for both landlords and tenants from the Fair Housing Council of Oregon at 503-223-8295 in the Portland metropolitan area or 800-424-3247 elsewhere in Oregon.”
 
Shelter Listings.org
​​​​​​
 
​Contact

Sex Offender Registration Section
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
Salem, OR 97317
​​​Phone: 503-934-1258
sexoffender.questions@osp.oregon.gov​

Hours
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM, Monday - Friday ​

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×