Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Criminal History Record Checks

Criminal History Record Checks – Public Access

Criminal history record information is confidential and exempt from public inspection, except through specific authority or statute.  (ORS 181A.220) The Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division of the Oregon State Police is designated by law as the central repository for criminal offender information for the State of Oregon.   CJIS provides the following services for public access where allowed under the law.

  • Open Record Requests is a copy of another person's Oregon Criminal History record resulting from a name based search of the Oregon Computerized Criminal History Repository (ORS 181A.245).
  • Copy of Your Own Oregon Record Request is a fingerprint based search of the Oregon Computerized Criminal History Repository that results in a copy of your Oregon Criminal History Record.
  • Public Fingerprinting Services are offered by OSP exclusively at our Salem Headquarters Office. 
  • Notary Services are provided by OSP for Copy of Own Record requests only.
                                             CJIS_Fee Schedule.PNG

Additional information about these services and the applicable fees can be located by clicking on the + signs below to expand each box.

Hours:         8:00 am- 4:30 pm (PST), Monday-Friday (excluding observed holidays)
Location:    Salem Headquarters
             3565 Trelstad Ave SE
             Salem, OR 97317

For account or website application assistance or to report a problem, please contact:
503-378-3720 or send an email to

Your Criminal History Records

​We can provide you with a copy of your Oregon criminal history report or a response stating you have no Oregon criminal history.

You will need to complete our form​​, provide your fingerprints, and pay a $33.00 fee. Due to the confidentiality of criminal history record information, results will only be mailed to the requestor.

Does this include information from other States?
No. To request a record of your criminal history in another state, you will need to contact that state.

Does this include national information?
No. Request a record of your FBI National Record Check.

Can you use a previously submitted criminal or applicant fingerprints already on record?

​Mail your completed form, fingerprint card, and the $33.00 fee to:
Oregon State Police – CJIS Division
Unit 11
P O Box 4395
Portland, OR 97208-4395

This information is also on the form.​

Can certified mail be sent to your PO Box?
No, sorry. Certified mail must be to our physical address.

Copy of Own Record Unit
Oregon State Police
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
Salem OR 97317-9614

​​You can contact your local law enforcement agency, a fingerprinting service, or stop at our Salem office. Fees vary by locations.

The fingerprints need to be properly rolled using the blue applicant fingerprint card (FD258). See an example of this card at FBI.

Your fingerprint card must contain:

  • ​Properly rolled impressions of all 10 digits, 2 thumbprints, plus the 4 fingers of each hand (slaps/flats) with sufficient clear ridge details.
  • The card must be legible and complete, either written or typed.
  • Your name, date of birth, place of birth, gender, race, your signature, and the signature of the person taking the prints.

We offer fingerprinting only at our Salem office:
General Headquarters
3565 Trelstad Avenue SE, Building 1
Salem OR 97317.
Fingerprinting is available Monday – Friday from 8 AM to 4:30 PM on a first come first served basis. The fee is $30.00.

Can my fingerprints be transmitted electronically to you to process my request?
No. You will need to submit a hard copy of your fingerprints on the applicant fingerprint card.

Can I use previously submitted fingerprints already on record?

​​Due to the confidentiality of criminal history information, responses will only be mailed to the person requesting.


We will not mail results to your attorney, family, friend, or employer.

If you do not have an Oregon record, you will receive a notice stating that a search within our master fingerprint file was conducted and did not reveal any criminal record in Oregon. 

How long does the process take?
Generally, 7-10 business days to process your request and send the results out for delivery. This timeframe does not include mail time.

Can you expedite my request?
No. Requests are processed in the ordered received.

The only way to expedite the process is in the mailing. You are welcome to provide a shipper from a courier of your choice at your expense for us to use to mail your documents back to you. 

Can you send my record to the Secretary of State for authentication (apostille) for me?
No. We can only mail to the person the record is for. There are no exceptions. 

Please note, if your document requires an Apostille, it must be notarized by us (additional $5.00 fee). Check with the Secretary of State. They may reject it if it is not notarized by us. If you missed this step, you can come to our Salem office, pay the $5.00 notary fee, and leave your documents with us. This cannot be done as walk-in or same-day process. Your document will then be redrafted, and notarized. You can choose for us to mail it back to you or call you to pick it up when ready. 

$5.00 for us to notarize your copy of own record documents. 

Why would I need my Record Notarized?
Occasionally business, employers, or other agencies may require a notarized copy of your Oregon record to authenticate the results. Check with the agency requesting your information to see if a notarized copy is necessary.

We accept checks or money orders through the mail.

You can also pay with a MasterCard or Visa debit or credit card in person at our Salem office. We cannot accept $50 or $100 bills. 

If you pay in-person with a personal check, the person named on the check must be present with a valid government-issued picture ID.

Business checks are accepted in-person. The signer of the check must be present with valid government-issued picure ID. They must also have proof they are authorized to be a signer on the business account. 

Criminal History Records on Someone Else

What will I receive?
If there is a criminal record, you will receive a notification when the 14-day waiting period has begun. The 14-day waiting period allows the person the record is on a chance to review their information.​​

The law provides you any Oregon record of conviction and any Oregon record of an arrest less than one year old in which there has been no acquittal or dismissal reported.
This includes:

  • Date of arrest
  • Offense for which arrest was made
  • Arresting agency
  • Court of origin
  • Disposition, including sentence imposed, date of parole if any and parole revocations if any.​

What if there is no criminal record information available?
If there is no criminal information or the individual’s criminal record consists only of non-conviction data, you will receive notice the individual has no criminal record and we will not release any further information.

How long will it take?
All requests are processed in the order received.

Mailed requests or online submissions will be responded to in the same manner received. Responses with criminal history information can only be mailed to you.

Response times vary depending on the results and do not include mailing time.

Is the individual notified about the request?
Yes. By law we must notify the individual of the request including who the person or agency is making the request. 

The individual of the request has opportunity to challenge the accuracy of the criminal offender information. If no challenge is received within the 14 days after sending notice to the individual, we will send the criminal record response to the person or agency making the request.

Are there notification responsibilities for an employer or prospective employer?
Yes. If you are an employer requesting information for employment purposes, Oregon law requires you to advise the employee or prospective employee before requesting the information. You must​ indicate on the request that you have notified the individual and how you did that on the request.​ We ask you this question on the form. 

$33.00 for a copy of another individual’s Oregon criminal history or response the individual has no record of conviction. 

We will not notarize a criminal history record of someone else.

Businesses that use this service frequently can request a billing account​ with us to request a criminal history on someone else. This account is only for submitting requests. It is not for receiving or accessing criminal history information online. The information will be provided by U.S Mail.​​

We accept checks or money orders through the mail. Payable to Oregon State Police. You can also pay with Visa or MasterCard debit or credit card in person at our Salem General Headquarters. A photo ID is required.

​We provide limited access to another person’s Oregon criminal history record or a response stating the individual has no Oregon criminal history.

Under provisions of Oregon Revised Statute, Chapter 181A, a person or agency, other than a Criminal Justice Agency, or a Law Enforcement Agency, may obtain Oregon Criminal Offender Information.​

Requests must include: ​

  • ​Individual's​ Full Name
  • Date of Birth
  • Social Security Number (if available)
  • Current or last known mailing address.
    • We cannot process the request without a current or last know mailing address. 
  • ​Name and mailing address of the person or agency making the request.
  • Fee $33.00 per request
  • Incomplete or illegible requests may delay processing

​We do not require fingerprints and notary is not available for this service.

​Mail a completed form (or substantial copy) and fee to: 

Billing Customers:
Oregon State Police
Criminal Justice Information Services Division
Attn: Open Records
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
Salem, OR 97317

Direct Payment Customers:
Oregon State Police
Unit 11
P O Box 4395
Portland, OR 97208-4395

Records Request on Someone Else


If you do not have the capability to order records electronically, please use these forms:

 Request own records


Oregon State Police – CJIS Division
Unit 11
P O Box 4395
Portland, OR 97208-4395
Phone: 503-378-3070

Open Records Portal