Skip to main content

Fireworks

We issue:
Permits to sell for retail and wholesale. 
Permits to use for general, limited, special effects and pest control or agriculture related.
Certifications to operators to conduct a display.

Oregon Revised Statutes for Fireworks (480.110 through ​480.165​)

Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 837, Division 12

  • Pest Control (Agricultural) Fireworks: 837-012-0305 to 837-012-0370
  • Wholesale Fireworks: 837-012-0500 to 837-012-0570
  • Retail Fireworks: 837-012-0600 to 837-012-0675
  • Display Fireworks: 837-012-0700 to 837-012-0970

We offer two types of permits; retail or wholesale.

Permit to sell Retail Fireworks.
Requires $100 fee and a completed application.
The permit authorizes the holder to purchase Oregon Retail fireworks from a licensed wholesaler, to sell retail fireworks to the general public and to store fireworks.

  • Permits can be applied for after January 1 of the year the permit is requested.
    • Note: Applications received after April 15 are not guaranteed to be issued before opening day.
  • Retail sales are allowed from June 23rd and end at 11:59 pm on July 6th.
  • Permits are valid from June 23rd-July 6th of the year the permit is issued unless revoked or suspended.
  • Permits are non-transferable, cannot be leased, sub-leased, or sub-contracted to any other person.

The application requires the local fire authority signature approving the sales location and storage if there is storage. For outside sales only you must provide proof of identification for individules responsible on the application.

Application to sell retail fireworks

Permit to sell Wholesale Fireworks
Requires $3,000 fee and a completed application.
The permit authorizes the purchase, transport, possession, packaging, storing, and sale of retail, display or agricultural fireworks.

  • Permits are due no earlier than October 1 and no later than December 18 (postmarked or received at OSFM).
  • Permits are valid for the year issued, unless revoked or suspended.

Application to sell wholesale fireworks

We offer four types of permits; general display, limited fireworks display, special effects display, pest control or agriculture related. 

Permit to use for General Fireworks Display 

Requires $100.00 fee and a completed application.

This permit authorizes an outdoor display using 1.3g fireworks. These are primarily aerial shells, but may also include 1.4g fireworks or special effects fireworks.  

  • Operators are required to be certified.
  • Must be conducted by an operator with a minimum of one assistant.
  • Requires a completed General Display Fireworks Report within 10 days of the date of the display. 
  • Permits are valid for the date and time of display unless it is revoked or suspended.
  • Applications shall be submitted at least 15 days in advance of the date of display.
Application to display general fireworks

Permit to use for Limited Fireworks Display

Requires $100.00 fee and a completed application.

This permit authorizes an outdoor displaying using 1.4g firework. Fireworks authorized by the permit are subject to limitation by the local fire authority. These are primarily firecrackers, skyrockets, missile rockets, and mortars.  

  • Operators are required to be certified.
  • Must be conducted by an operator with a minimum of one assistant.
  • No requirement to complete a Display Fireworks Report. 
  • Permits are valid for the date and time of display unless it is revoked or suspended.
  • Applications shall be submitted at least 15 days in advance of the date of display.


Permit to use for Special Effects Display

Requires $100.00 fee and a completed application.

This permit authorizes an indoor or outdoor display using special effects firework. Special effects fireworks means any effect created by using flammable, combustible, or explosive composition or substance, or any combination of such compositions or substances, or any articles including fireworks, explosives, or smoke prepare for the purpose of providing a visible or audible effect by combustion, explosion, deflagration or detonation, and/or fire.

Primarily designed or discharged in connection with performances, events, gatherings, television, radio, theater, motion picture productions, or similar venues which may or may not be presented before live audiences 

  • Operators are not required to be certified.
  • Must be conducted by an operator with a minimum of one assistant.
  • No requirement to complete a Display Fireworks Report. 
  • Permits are valid for the date and time of display unless it is revoked or suspended.
  • Applications shall be submitted at least 15 days in advance of the date of display.
Application to display special effects fireworks

Permit to use for Pest Control or Agriculture Related

Requires a completed application. There is no fee for this permit.

An Oregon permit and a Federal license are required for use to scare away birds or animals that cause harm or destruction to the following types of properties:
  • Farms 
  • Forests 
  • Waste and recycling facilities 
  • Airports
  • Golf courses 
  • Properties used for the production of commercially valuable fish or seafood
  • Estuaries
  • Properties located outside of an incorporated city.
The Oregon permit is valid until the expiration date unless it is revoked or suspended for a violation. 

Application to use fireworks for pest control or agriculture related

The Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (BATFE) regulate individuals purchasing and storing agricultural fireworks. You must have a Federal License to receive an Oregon permit. Contact BATFE at 503-331-7830, or their website (link: https://www.atf.gov/explosives/fireworks)

General Display Operator Certification
Requires a completed application, passing an online exam, required duties, and training. There is no fee. The certification is valid three years from the date issued unless it is revoked or suspended.

An applicant must comply with the following:

  • Be 21 years of age or older.
  • Participated as an assistant in three or more general displays in Oregon within three years of the date of application:
    • Participation means completing any of the following duties: firing of the display, installation of mortars, installation of set pieces, loading shells, after-display clean-up and inspection, installation of electrical firing system, and tending the magazine, which may include reloading the mortars.
  • At a minimum, an applicant must have on all three displays in Oregon:
    1. installed mortars
    2. loaded shells
    3. after-display clean-up and inspection.
      If this is your original certification, one of the three displays must also have the duty of manual firing.
  • Complete an examination application and return by fax, mail or email.
  • We will send you an email with access to an online system, iLearn, to take the examination.
  • Study materials Oregon Revised Statutes 480.110 through 480.165, Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970
  • Complete the exam with 80% of the questions correctly.
    • ​If you do not pass, you will need to submit another application requesting to take the exam again.
  • You also must have attended and completed one training course administered by a certified instructor at one of the licensed general wholesalers.

Application to take General Operator Certification Examination
Application for a Display Operator Certification

Limited Display Operator Certification
Requires a completed application. There is no fee for this certification. Applicants are certified to only operate limited display fireworks.

An applicant must comply with the following:

  • Be 18 years of age or older.
  • Must complete and sign the application certifying knowledge, understanding and will follow all requirements in ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR Chapter 837, Division 12.

Application for a Limited Display Operator Certification​

Special Effects Operator
There is no certification required.

 
​Contact
Regulatory Services Branch
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
Salem, OR 97317
Phone: 503-934-8274
Fax: 503-373-1825
sfm.lp@state.or.us

Hours
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM, Monday - Friday

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×