Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

New Licensee Information

Congratulations on getting your license!

Select from the following topics to learn important information about keeping and maintaining your new license:

  • ​Notify the Agency within 10 days of any changes to your email or mailing address by logging in to eLicense and completing an address change. Failure to do so may result in disciplinary action.
  • The Agency communicates mostly by email. Add and​ to your address book or safe sender list to make sure you don't miss important messages and renewal notices.

The Oregon Real Estate News-Journal is the officlal publication of the Oregon Real Es​tate Agency.Subscribe to the News-Journal to stay up-to-date on the latest laws, rules, and other information from the Agency. ​

​​Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) chapter 696 and Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) chapter 863​ govern many aspects of your professional real estate activity, such as duties you owe to your clients, advertising requirements, and record maintenance.​

​Continuing education is required for each license renewal.

View Continuing Education Requirements​

​Expiration date
  • Your first license period will most likely be less than 2 years. Subsequent expiration dates are every 2 years.
  • Your license always expires on the last day of the month that your birthday is in. Look up your license expiration date in eLicense​.
NOTE: The full license renewal fee​ is required even though the license period may be less than two years.

Reminder email
The Agency will email you a license​​ renewal reminder around the first day of the month your license expires. You cannot renew before this day. License renewals are done online in eLicense.
The email is a courtesy reminder. You are responsible for renewing your license in time.

License renewal fees

  • $300 for an active license
  • $150 for an inactive license
  • $150 late renewal fee
Conducting professional real estate activity with an inactive or expired license may result in civil penalties.​​

​Real estate license law give the terms "active" and "inactive" a different meaning than commonly used.

  • Active license means the holder is authorized to conduct professional real estate activity as defined in ORS 696.010​.
  • Inactive license means that the licensee still has access to the license, but it is being held in a status that does not allow the licensee to conduct professional real estate activity.​

​You may move your license from business to business as you choose. The principal broker or property manager in charge of business you are moving to must log into eLicense to transfer your license.

You can also just leave a business by inactivating your license in eLicense.​​

Important information if you leave a business

Remember that listings belong to the company you are working for at the time the listing contracts were signed. When you join a business, discuss with your principal broker how outstanding listings are handled when a licensee transfers. This may eliminate confusion later for you and your clients.​​​

​Property management in Oregon means more than just managing rental property. ​Learn more in our guide.​​