Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Suspensions & Revocations

Overview

If a court suspends or revokes your driving privileges, you may get a suspension or revocation order while in court. The court may also confiscate your driver license and return it to DMV.
 
If your driving privileges are suspended or revoked by DMV, a notice of suspension or revocation will be sent to the address on your driving record. If you have a driver license in your possession, it must be returned to a DMV office when the suspension or revocation begins. You may not drive any motor vehicle on roadways or premises open to the public during the suspension/revocation period. 
  
A sampling of some of the most common suspensions and revocations are presented in the sections below. For more information, or to see if a particular conviction could result in a loss of driving privileges, please contact DMV.
 
Use the links below to go directly to any section:
Failure to Appear/Comply
DMV, when ordered by a court, may suspend a person's driving privilege if the person fails to appear in court or fails to pay a traffic fine for a traffic violation or a traffic crime in Oregon or Washington. Your driving privilege will be suspended until DMV receives proof that the case has been cleared with the court or until ten years has elapsed from the date the suspension begins, whichever comes first, at which time you will need to pay a reinstatement fee in order to remove the suspension from your record.
 
Acceptable proof of clearance from a court includes either of the following:
  • An official court clearance document from the court; or
  • An electronically transmitted clearance sent directly to DMV from a Circuit Court in Oregon.
Persons suspended for failure to appear or to comply are not eligible for a hardship permit.

Failure to Pay Child Support
If you are behind in paying child support or fail to comply with a subpoena relating to a child support or paternity proceeding, the Support Enforcement Division or a District Attorney may require DMV to suspend your driving privilege. This type of suspension remains in effect until the Support Enforcement Division or a District Attorney authorizes DMV to reinstate your driving privileges, and you have paid a reinstatement fee.

Court Denial (Suspension for Underage Alcohol Offense)
DMV, when ordered by the court, may suspend a person's driving privileges if the person is between 13-20 years of age (at the time of the offense) and is convicted of an offense involving the possession, use or abuse of alcohol. The order denying driving privileges (suspension) will remain in effect for:
  • One year or until the person turns 17 years old, whichever is longer, if it is the first order; or
  • One year or until the person turns 18 years old, whichever is longer, if it is the second or subsequent order. 
Note: If the person is 18-20 years of age, DMV will suspend for one year because the "until 17" or "until 18" options do not apply. 
 
The court may review the case and restore driving privileges at any time, however, the court may not withdraw the order within:
  • 90 days, if it is the first order; or
  • One year, if it is the second or subsequent order.
Persons suspended for Court Denial are not eligible for a hardship permit, but may be eligible for a court denial Emergency Driver Permit.

DUII
You may be found guilty of Driving while Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) if you operate a motor vehicle while you are under the influence of intoxicating liquor, and/or a controlled substance. You may be charged with DUII if you commit the offense upon any premises open to the public.
 
If convicted of DUII, your driving privileges will be suspended. Suspension lengths vary. They can be one year, three years or permanent. A suspension or revocation resulting from a DUII conviction is separate from any suspension you may receive under the Implied Consent law.
 
For related statutes, see Chapter 813 of the Oregon Revised Statutes. 

Implied Consent
Oregon's implied consent law means that by driving a motor vehicle you have implied that you will consent to a breath, blood or urine test if a police officer requests you to take such a test. The officer can request you to take a test if they arrested you for a suspected DUII. Refusal to take a test is admissible as evidence in court. Drivers over 21 years old will fail the test if their blood alcohol reading is 0.08 percent or more. Drivers under 21, will fail the test if they have any amount of alcohol in their blood. An implied consent suspension is separate from any suspension you may receive as a result of a DUII conviction. 
 
If you have a valid Oregon Driver License in your possession, the officer will confiscate it and issue a 30-day temporary driving permit. After 30 days, the suspension is in effect and the temporary driving permit is no longer valid.
 
If you receive a notice of intent to suspend from a police officer under Oregon's Implied Consent Law, you are entitled to a hearing. You must request the hearing in the manner, and within the timeframe allowed in the notice of intent to suspend.
 
Suspension lengths vary. If you are arrested for driving under the influence of intoxicants and you:
  • Take a breath test and fail it - DMV will suspend your driving privileges for 90 days. If you have any prior alcohol-related entries on your driving record within five years, DMV will suspend your driving privileges for one year.
  • Refuse to take a breath test - DMV will suspend your driving privileges for one year. If you have any prior alcohol-related entries on your driving record within five years, DMV will suspend your driving privileges for three years.
  • Refuse to take a urine test - DMV will suspend your driving privileges for one year. If you have any prior alcohol-related entries on your driving record within five years, DMV will suspend your driving privileges for three years. The suspension for refusing a urine test will not start until any other implied consent suspension (even from the same arrest) is over.
  • Refuse to take a blood test while receiving medical care in a health care facility following a motor vehicle collision - DMV will suspend your driving privileges for one year. If you have any prior alcohol-related entries on your driving record within five years, DMV will suspend your driving privileges for three years.
  • Fail a blood test while receiving medical care in a health care facility following a motor vehicle collision - DMV will suspend your driving privileges for 90 days. If you have any prior alcohol-related entries on your driving record within five years, DMV will suspend your driving privileges for one year. This suspension will begin on the 60th day after DMV received the report that you failed the test. DMV will send a suspension notice to the address on your driving record to inform you of the suspension dates. The officer will not confiscate your driver license and issue a 30-day temporary driving permit. You are required to return any license in your possession to DMV when the suspension begins.
DMV will also suspend your driving privileges if any of the actions occurred while driving in another state (ORS 809.400).
 
If any of the actions occurred while driving a commercial vehicle suspension times may vary.

Ignition Interlock Device
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a breath analyzer able to detect the presence of alcohol. It connects into a vehicle's ignition system. Prior to starting a vehicle equipped with an IID, the driver must provide a breath sample by blowing into the device. The IID will prevent the vehicle from starting if the alcohol content in the driver's breath sample exceeds a preset limit. 
 
IID Requirements for DUII arrests on or after January 1, 2016:
DUII Diversion:
  • If a person refused a Breath or Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) test.
  • If person submitted to a BAC test and the alcohol content indicated any amount of alcohol.
  • Minimally required for duration of Diversion.
  • During Diversion, person may petition the court after six months to vacate the IID requirement.
  • Non-compliance can result in DUII conviction (termination of Diversion).

DUII Conviction:

  • Requirement starts from the ending date of the suspension caused by the DUII conviction.
  • One year minimum for a first conviction.
  • Two year minimum for a 2nd conviction.
  • Five year minimum for 3rd or subsequent conviction.
  • Non-compliance results in suspension.
In addition, anyone applying for a hardship permit during a DUII suspension or during an IID requirement must install and maintain an IID as a condition of the permit.
 
At the end of the initial (minimum) IID requirement, the person must submit to DMV proof the person has had no IID violations for the last 90 days.  If the person is unable to provide the proof, DMV will extend the IID requirement indefinitely until the person submits the proof (Form 735-7379, IID Certification—No Negative Report).
 
Fees & Costs
You are responsible for paying all costs related to the IID, including the installation, lease, monthly monitoring, and removal of the device. 
 
Note: You may be eligible for financial assistance if you cannot afford the costs associated with the device. You must meet the standard for indigence, which is the possession of a current Food Stamp Identification Card issued by the Oregon Department of Human Services. To request a waiver of IID costs, you must provide proof of indigence to an IID vendor who is contracted with the Addictions and Mental Health Division. 

You may view the list of approved devices and provider locations, or call our Customer Assistance Unit at (503) 945-5000.

Treatment
A person whose driving privileges are suspended due to a DUII conviction in Oregon must provide proof that they have completed a treatment program ordered by the court under ORS 813.021. DMV will not reinstate a suspension resulting from a DUII conviction until the person submits this requirement or until 15 or more years have elapsed from the date of the DUII conviction. 
 
OAR 735-070-0085 identifies acceptable proof of completing treatment as: 
  • A DUII Treatment Completion Certificate (DMV form 735-6821). DUII Treatment Completion Certificates are only issued by treatment providers approved by the Oregon Addictions and Mental Health Division.
  • A court order from the circuit court of the county in which the person was convicted showing that the person has taken sufficient steps to satisfy the court’s requirement to complete a treatment program.

If more than 15 years has elapsed from the date of the DUII conviction, DMV will not require the proof of treatment to reinstate the related DUII suspension.

Habitual Offender Program
DMV will revoke your driving privileges for five years if you are convicted of three or more of the following offenses within a five year period:
  • Any degree of murder, manslaughter, criminally negligent homicide, assault, recklessly endangering another person, menacing or criminal mischief resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
  • Driving while under the influence of intoxicants.
  • Driving while your driving privileges are suspended or revoked.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Failure to perform the duties of a driver after a collision.
  • Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer.
DMV will also revoke your driving privileges for habitual offender if you are convicted of 20 or more traffic violations within five years. To view a list of types of traffic violations for 20 or more convictions, see OAR 735-064-0220.

Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: