Skip to main content

Truck Safety

Driver and Motor Carrier Safety

See our Laws and Rules web page for a complete list of motor carrier and driver requirements, regulations and responsibilities for operating in Oregon. Our Oregon Motor Carrier Education Manual contains an easy to read summary of all Safety Regulations.
 
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Regulations
Title 49, CFR Parts 300-399 — All FMCSA Regulations

Oregon Safety Regulations
OAR 740-100-0010 — Adopts the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, and includes exemptions specific to Oregon intrastate operations.

Who Must Comply? FMCSA Driver Hours of Service Rules
OAR 740-100-0010 — Oregon Driver Hours of Service Rules
FMCSA Part 395 — Drivers Hours of Service
 
Interstate Truck Drivers
Interstate property-carrying commercial vehicle drivers are:

  • Limited to 11 hours driving in a 14-hour work day after 10 consecutive hours off duty. Prohibited from driving after being on duty 60 hours in a seven-day period, or 70 hours in an eight-day period if the motor carrier operates trucks seven days a week.
  • A driver may “restart” the 60 or 70 hour period if he/she takes 34 consecutive hours off duty.
  • Drivers who keep a log book may not drive if more than eight hours have passed since the end of his/her last off-duty period of at least 30 minutes. 


Intrastate Truck Drivers

Oregon drivers who haul property in intrastate commerce are allowed additional hours to drive in the following situations:

  • Drivers are allowed 12 hours driving time instead of 11 hours. Drivers may not drive after the 16th hour of coming on duty instead of the 14th hour.
  • Drivers are prohibited from driving after being on duty 70 hours in seven days, or 80 hours in eight days if the motor carrier operates truck seven days a week.
  • A driver may "restart" the 70 hour or 80 hour period if he/she takes 34 consecutive hours off duty.
  • Drivers required to keep a log book are subject to the same rest break requirements as interstate drivers.


       The additional hours discussed above do not apply to:

  • Drivers carrying hazardous materials requiring placards.
  • Drivers carrying passengers who must comply with FMCSA Part 395.5.

​Drivers and owner-operators with a commercial driver license (CDL) are subject to drug and alcohol testing.  Motor carriers who employ drivers with a CDL must have a testing program in place. See FMCSA Part 382.

Additional Information
FMCSR Part 382.309
ORS 825.410 — Summary of Motor Carrier Drug and Alcohol Testing

When carriers register to operate in Oregon or renew registration, state law requires carriers to certify that they meet drug and alcohol testing requirements. Download an Online Certification Form.
 
The penalty for not maintaining a testing program is $1,000 per violation. Oregon law also requires that information about an Oregon commercial driver´s positive drug test must be entered on the driver´s employment driving record.
 
In addition, motor carriers must provide drivers with educational materials that outline testing requirements and the carrier´s policy regarding alcohol and controlled substances abuse. Carriers can administer their own testing programs or they can enroll drivers with consortiums or third-party administrators who manage testing programs. Final responsibility for compliance lies with the motor carrier.
 
Random Tests
Carriers must include all drivers in a random controlled substances and alcohol testing program throughout each year. See FMCSR Part 382.305.
 
Controlled substances testing: must be performed randomly on at least 25 percent of the average number of driver positions each year.

Alcohol testing: must be performed randomly on at least 10 percent of the average number of driver positions each year.  Additionally, they must be performed immediately prior to, during, or immediately after a driver is on duty.
 
Post-Accident Tests
Federal and state rules hold the employer responsible for conducting post-accident testing of the driver (see below). The requirement also applies to drivers who are individual owner/operators. These rules apply regardless of who is at fault in the accident. See FMCSR Part 382.303.
 
Employer IS responsible for testing if an accident involves:
  • A human fatality, regardless of whether the driver of the commercial vehicle is issued a citation.
  • Bodily injury with immediate medical treatment away from the scene AND a citation is issued to the driver of commercial vehicle.
  • Disabling damage to any motor vehicle requiring tow away AND a citation is issued to the driver of commercial vehicle.

Employer IS NOT responsible for testing if an accident involves:
  • Bodily injury with immediate medical treatment away from the scene AND no citation is issued to the driver of commercial vehicle.
  • Disabling damage to any motor vehicle requiring tow away AND no citation is issued to the driver of commercial vehicle.


Additional requirements:

  • Alcohol tests should be taken within two hours of the accident, but no later than eight hours. Controlled substance tests must be taken within 32 hours of the accident.
  • Post-accident testing rules are not intended to delay necessary medical attention. A driver is not prohibited from leaving the scene of an accident for a period of time to obtain medical assistance.
  • Drivers must remain available for testing or they may be deemed by the employer to have refused testing. A refusal is considered the same as a positive test. The responsibility for testing remains with the employer. Failure to conduct post-accident testing can lead to penalties in a civil enforcement action.
  • Motor carriers must provide drivers with educational materials that outline the requirements and the carrier´s policy regarding alcohol misuse and controlled substances abuse. Carriers can administer their own testing programs or they can enroll drivers with third-party administrators who manage testing programs. Final responsibility for compliance lies with the motor carrier. See FMCSR Part 382.601.


Reasonable Suspicion Tests

Drivers must submit to a controlled substances and/or alcohol test whenever a properly-trained motor carrier official or supervisor observes or documents behavior indicating controlled substances or alcohol use. See FMCSR Part 382.307.

Return-to-Duty Tests
Carriers must take the following steps before allowing a driver to return to work after testing positive or after refusing to take a test.
  1. The carrier must ensure the driver passes either a alcohol test with a result indicating an alcohol concentration of less than .02 or a controlled substances test indicating a negative result, whichever test is applicable.
  2. The driver must be evaluated by a substance abuse professional to determine what additional steps may be required.
    See FMCSR Part 382.309 for complete information.

​Federal reporting requirements call for a truck crash report to be filed when the crash involves a fatality, injury, or disabling damage to any vehicle. Oregon requires a Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report Form to be filed with the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division. Visit the DMV site for more information about to be filed with the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division. Visit the DMV site for more information about reporting accidents.

Federal Forms
U.S. DOT Medical Examination Report Form — Determine commercial driver fitness.
FMCSA Motor Carrier Safety Forms and Publications

 
Separate Forms for Companies with no Record Inquiry Account
DMV Request for Complete Driver History — Includes CDL medical and drug test information.

Public Safety

Public Service Announcements
Be ready, be buckled!
Granny Trucker says, Chain Up!

Safety Tips
Safe Driver Brochure — Safe driving tips for motorists and truckers.

Guide to the 2017 Oregon Commercial Vehicle Safety Plan

This guide is required by Oregon law ORS 825.248 and provides information about truck crash totals, crash causes, crash rates, safety inspection totals and a summary of key problems and objectives of state-specific problems and national program activities.

The Motor Carrier Transportation Division is responsible for training and certifying inspectors which include employees of ODOT, state law enforcement and regulatory personnel.

Check a schedule of classes for Oregon Truck Inspector Training.

​In 1998, ODOT implemented the Trusted Carrier Partner Program as a way to recognize those truck companies who demonstrate better than average safety records and good business practices.

In 2012, ODOT included passenger carrying motor carriers in the Trusted Carrier Partner Program. The Motor Carrier Transportation Division has prioritized inspections of buses to help ensure safe vehicles and drivers, alleviate passenger frustrations and address concerns about delayed bus schedules.

Program Recognition
MCTD awards recognition certificates to thank participating bus operators and destinations for providing safe locations to conduct bus inspections.

Program recognition includes:

  • The iconic red vanity plate with the words "Trusted Carrier Partner.”
  • No random safety inspections or random compliance reviews.


Award Recipients

Blue Star Charters & Tours Inc.
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
First Student Inc.
Greyhound Lines Inc.
JMI Limousine Inc.
Lucky Limousine & Towncar Service LLC
Mt Hood Meadows Ski Resort
Mt Bachelor
MTR Western LLC
NW Navigator Luxury Coaches LLC
Portland Rose Festival Association
Spirit Mountain Casino
US Army Corps of Engineers, Portland District

Traveling in Oregon

State safety officials focus truck enforcement efforts in the following Safety Corridors where higher than average truck crashes occur.
 
Oregon Safety Corridors
Safety Corridor Location
​Siskiyou Summit I-5, MP2-9
Pass Information — Siskiyou
​Weaver to Roberts Mountain ​I-5, MP108-117
​Salem I-5, MP252-260​
​Tualatin to Portland / Marquam Bridge I-5, MP289-300​
West Linn to Clackamas I-205, MP8-14​
​Hood River to Mosier I-84, MP63-73​
​Emigrant Hill / Cabbage Hill Ladd Canyon
Pass Information — Emigrant Hill
​Ladd Canyon Ladd Canyon​
​Nelson Point to Weatherby I-84, MP331-340​
​North Bend to Coos Bay US101, MP233-243​
 

Chains & Traction Tires
Chains are required in Oregon whenever winter conditions exist and SNOW ZONE signs are posted advising drivers to carry or use them.

Visit our Enforcement and Scale Operations page and TripCheck site for information about:

See FMCSR Part 396 for complete information about inspection requirements and enforcement for motor vehicles. 

Common Inspection Procedures

Inspection Reports
Motor carriers can view their vehicle and driver safety inspection reports through their Oregon Trucking Online account.
 
Sign and Return Inspection Forms (within 15 days) to:

       ODOT Motor Carrier Transportation Division
       3930 Fairview Industrial Drive SE
       Salem OR 97302-1116
       Fax: 503-373-7481
 
Inspection Follow-Up Requirements
  • Correct all violations listed on the inspection form and have a company official sign the form.
  • A repair person must also sign the form if a vehicle had a critical safety violation.
  • If violations are related to the driver, the company official´s signature certifies that action was taken to assure future safety compliance.

Types of Safety Inspections conducted in North America
  • LEVEL I — A complete inspection that includes a check of the:
    • Driver´s license.
    • Medical examiner´s certificate or waiver.
    • Alcohol and drugs.
    • Hours of service.
    • Seat belt.
    • Vehicle inspection report.
    • Brake system.
    • Coupling devices.
    • Exhaust system.
    • Frame.
    • Fuel system.
    • Turn signals.
    • Brake and tail lamps.
    • Headlamps.
    • Lamps on loads.
    • Load securement.
    • Steering.
    • Suspension.
    • Tires.
    • Van and open-top trailer bodies.
    • Wheels and rims.
    • Windshield wipers.
    • Emergency exits on buses and hazardous materials requirements as applicable.
  • LEVEL II — A "walk-around" inspection includes a check of each of the items in a Level I inspection except those that require the inspector to physically get under the truck.
  • LEVEL III — An inspection of just the driver-related items in a Level I inspection.
  • LEVEL IV — A special inspection that is typically a one-time examination of a particular item for a safety study or done to verify or refute a suspected trend.
  • LEVEL V — An inspection of just the truck-related items in a Level I inspection.
  • LEVEL VI — An inspection of a shipment of highway-route-controlled quantities of radiological material. A Level VI inspection includes an enhanced check of each of the items in a Level I inspection.

​General Rules
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations regarding cargo load securement apply to trucks, truck tractors, semitrailers, full trailers and pole trailers. General requirements for securing cargo and specific requirements for different types of cargo can be found in FMSCR Part 393, Subpart I — Protection Against Shifting and Falling Cargo. A Cargo Securement Rules Summary is also available.

Temporary Exemption (2011-2017)
Metal Coil Securement – Eyes Crosswise
Motor Carriers who use the temporary exemption from FMCSR Part 393.120(2) must meet the following securement requirements.
 
If the coils are loaded to contact each other in the longitudinal direction and relative motion between coils and between coils and the vehicle is prevented, then the coils may be secured:
  • The front coil must be blocked in front with a timber at least 4x4 inches. The timber must be at least 75% of the width of the coil, or row of coils if two or more coils sit side by side.
  • The rear coil must be blocked in the rear with a timber at least 4x4 inches. The timber must be at least 75% of the width of the coil, or row of coils if two or more coils sit side by side.
  • The first coil must be secured with a tiedown to prevent movement in the forward direction.
  • The last coil must be secured with a tiedown to prevent movement in the rearward direction.
  • Each additional coil in the row must be secured with at least one tiedown.
  • The aggregate working load limit of all the tiedowns must be at least one-half times the weight of all the coils.

Log Securement – Clarification for Oregon OSHA

Many log trucks require only two tie-downs (wrappers) to satisfy the cargo securement requirements in FMCSR Part 393.116. To meet OSHA standards, the load may require more than two. Check with OSHA for their particular standards.

​The ODOT Motor Carrier Transportation Division adopts FMSCR Part 397 — Transportation of Hazardous Materials; Driving and Parking Rules to regulate the transportation of hazardous materials by both carriers and shippers in Oregon.
 
Need more information?
Visit the U.S. DOT Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration website.

Prohibited Routes for Hazardous Materials — Portland Area
More information about motor carrier responsibility for routing is found in FMCSR Part 397.67.


Radioactive Materials

Motor carriers transporting radioactive materials in and through Oregon are subject to all related safety laws of the U.S. DOT, Nuclear Regulatory Commission and Oregon Department of Energy.


Oregon Rules for Transporting RAM


Carriers Hauling Spent Fuel and Highway Route Controlled Quantities
  • A minimum of 48 hour notice must be provided to the ODOT Motor Carrier Transportation Division, Safety Technical Services.
  • If it is not possible to meet the 48-hour requirement, notice must be made immediately by phone or no later than the next working day.
  • Carriers must also report route changes, shipment cancellations or schedule changes if an inspection is required and the carrier will arrive at the inspection site two or more hours early or late.

​Whether farmers use their trucks for their own farm use or to haul for-hire, safety regulations may apply. Visit the Motor Carrier Transportation Division's Farm Trucking page for more information.

 

 
 

Contact Us

Oregon Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Transportation Division
3930 Fairview Industrial Drive SE
Salem OR 97302-1166
 
 
Hours of Operation (Pacific Time)
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday
 
Phone
503-378-6963 — Safety
 
Web Editor
Email the MCTD Web Team.
 

Road and Weather Conditions

Call 800-977-ODOT (within Oregon)
Call 503-588-2941 (outside Oregon)

Roadside Truck Inspections

Phone: 503-373-0982
Fax: 503-373-7481
Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Oregon Hazardous Materials Office

Phone: 503-378-6336
Fax: 503-378-3567
Hours: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Report Accidents and Issues

800-452-0311 (within Oregon)
503-378-4124 (outside Oregon)

Report Hazardous Driving

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×