Minor labels

Program information

Minor labels can be used anywhere in the state of Oregon. Oregon law prohibits using more than 10 minor labels without reporting installations to the division first. Labels must be reported within 30 days of being used. Only licensed contractors can buy minor labels. The contractor responsible for all labels issued to the company, until they are reported online or the unused expired labels are returned to Building Codes Division.

Minor label FAQs

The Minor Label Program is a Web-based program. 

What you will need to set up an online account:

  • Building Codes Division (BCD) contractors license
  • Construction Contractors Board (CCB) license
  • Visa, MasterCard, or Discover
  • Telephone number
  • Email address
  • You will create a user ID

When you have completed the activation of your account, you can order your minor labels.​

Labels are sold in sets of 10. Including surcharges; a set of 10 costs $140. This also includes the inspection fee for one inspection.​

Minor labels are generally processed and printed within two working days and mailed to you from the Building Codes Division's Salem office. The labels are preprinted with important information. There is also a space for you to fill in the installation date and job description. When you arrive at a jobsite where you are using a minor label, fill in the specified information and attach the larger portion to the electrical panel before work is started.

  • Attach the smaller portion of the label, with the label identification number printed on it, to the work order. Some contractors prefer using the minor label log​ for their records.
  • Record the installation information in your online account.
  • Need help? Use the online user guide​.​
​Once a label(s) has expired, if it has not been used, mail it back to the minor label program and this will fulfill the reporting requirement and remove your responsibility. Expiration date is printed on the label. Labels cannot be used after the expiration date; no exceptions.
​Mailing address:
Minor Label Program
PO Box 14470
​Salem, OR 97309

No, only one minor label may be used on a jobsite with existing structural or electrical permits provided the work is covered by the minor label rules and only one minor label transaction may be performed by a contractor at a jobsite as part of a single or same transaction. For example, the minor label rules allow the repair or replacement of only one appliance per label [OAR 9​18-100​-0020 (6)]. If a contractor wants to install multiple appliances, a full permit is necessary. Use the​​​ local building department lookup to find the local jurisdiction.​

The rules allow one minor label per project per jobsite, so if a minor label has been posted for previous projects, you may use a minor label for your installation.​​

There are many devices named specifically in the rules [see OAR 918-309​-0220 (D)], including but not limited to: alarm contacts, smoke detectors, heat detectors, and central vacuum clean control devices.​​​ See also OAR ​918-100​-0010​ for more definitions.​

When 10 minor label installations have been entered into your online account, one of the installations will be randomly chosen for inspection by the online system. The local building department responsible for the property address will be notified by the online system to send an inspector out to look at the job.

You can check your online account to view your inspection results. Everything is kept track of by the online system and is easy for you to access.

Using the online system you can also view a record of all installations, purchasing history, and update your company information.​

Failing a minor label is expensive. If an inspection fails​, the division allows the contractor 10 calendar days to dispute the inspection report by notifying the division. The contractor pays the jurisdiction directly at its hourly inspection rate for reinspection. The division then selects another label from the same lot of 10 to be inspected and the contractor pays the jurisdiction directly at a rate of $75. If three inspections from the same lot of labels fail, the contractor must take out full permits for all the remaining installations in that lot.​​​​​

As soon as possible; report the lost/destroyed label number to the ML administrator minlabhelp.imd@oregon.gov. You are still responsible for the label but we will not expect installation information to be reported.​​
  • Members of the public may look up a minor label to identify the installer and the type of installation made. ​Search the minor label database​​​​​.
  • If you are new to the Minor Label Program and would like to create an account, you will need: Building Codes Division (BCD) Contractor license and your Construction Contractors Board (CCB) license number to create an account.
Create an account

Minor Label Login
Mailing address
Minor Label Program
PO Box 14470
Salem, OR 97309-0404