Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Oregon's Residential Energy Tax Credit Program

Introduction

With the Oregon Department of Energy’s Residential Energy Tax Credit, homeowners or renters can apply for a tax credit on their personal Oregon income taxes for purchasing energy-efficient products and energy systems for their homes. See Transferring Your Tax Credit for more information.

Back to Top

How do I apply for the tax credit?

After purchasing and installing qualifying equipment, fill out the corresponding tax credit application and submit to the Oregon Department of Energy with your receipt or proof of purchase. Applications are available on our website: www.oregon.gov/energy/residential

Your dealer, contractor, or technician may also have application materials available.

If your equipment meets our qualifications, we will send you a tax credit certificate. Applications are processed in the order we receive them, so be sure to turn them in as soon as possible to start using your credit!

For questions about how the credit may work for you, your personal tax liability, or how to claim the credit on your taxes, please contact your local tax professional or the Oregon Department of Revenue.

Back to Top

Am I eligible for the tax credit?

You may be eligible for the Residential Energy Tax Credit program if you purchase qualifying equipment for your Oregon-based primary residence, secondary (vacation) home, or residential rental property. Only items eligible at the time of purchase will qualify, and you must be the owner of the new equipment.
Back to Top

How much is the tax credit?

The maximum tax credit for each qualifying purchase depends on the cost of the improvement and the energy saved. Credits can range from about $100 up to $6,000.
Back to Top

What qualifies for a tax credit?

Our program keeps track of the latest technology and products, so we keep the most current list of qualifying equipment, systems, and services on our website. Please note that some systems require installation by an Oregon Department of Energy-approved tax credit technician.

To see all of the energy efficient devices or technologies that qualifies for an Oregon’s Residential Energy Tax Credit, please go here.
Back to Top

Transferring your tax credit

The pass-through option will allow a person who buys qualifying equipment, systems or services to transfer an energy tax credit to an individual, estate, trust or business subject to tax under Oregon Revised Statute 316. The equipment owner is responsible for finding a pass-through partner, which must have an Oregon tax liability.

Potential applicants and pass-through partners may contact a tax advisor or the Oregon Department of Revenue at 503-378-4988 or www.oregon.gov/DOR to determine if they are subject to Oregon personal income tax.

For more information, please call us 503-378-4040 or 800-221-8035 and ask to speak to one of our Residential Energy Tax Credit staff members.
Back to Top

For more information

Oregon Department of Energy staff are happy to discuss your project with you and answer your questions. Contact us at 503-378-4040 or 800-221-8035.
Back to Top