Skip to main content

Sex Offender Notification Leveling Program

How to Apply for Relief from Registration

Only registrants with a Notification Level I are eligible to be granted relief from registration; Registrants with a Notification Level II or III may be eligible to apply for reclassification.

If you are interested in applying for relief from the obligation to register as a sex offender in the state of Oregon, you must meet the following criteria. If any of the following are not met, your application will be denied.

  • You have been off supervision for your sex offense for at least 5 years.

  • You have never been convicted of a 'person felony' or a 'person class-a misdemeanor' since you were convicted of the sex offense which requires you to register. For a list of person-crimes, visit: Oregon CJC Chapter 213 Definition 14

  • You have never been found guilty in the first degree of any of the following: Rape, Sodomy, Unlawful sexual penetration, Burglary (with the intent to commit a sex crime), or Kidnapping (if the victim was under the age of 18), or an equivalent of any of these in another United States court.

  • You have never been designated as a Predatory Sex Offender (between February 10, 2005 and December 31, 2013), a Sexually Violent Dangerous Offender (ORS 137.765), or received a classification from the Psychiatric Security Review Board(PSRB).

  • You have never been classified at Notification Level III, are not currently classified at Notification Level II, and at least 5 years have passed if you've ever been RE-classified from Notification Level II to Notification Level I by the Board or any other classifying agency. Only Notification Level I registrants are eligible for relief (Level II and III registrants, see re-classification).

  • You have been convicted in another state AND that state permits a petition for relief from reporting. 

*PLEASE NOTE* Incomplete applications may not be considered


**By applying for relief, the Board may conduct an assessment or reassessment of your notification level and you may be leveled as Notification Level II or III, which will make you ineligible for relief.**


Please click here to download the application for relief


How to Apply for Reclassification

Registrants with a Notification Level II or III may be eligible to apply for reclassification.

If you are interested in applying for reclassification in the state of Oregon, you must meet the following criteria. If any of the following are not met, your application will be denied.

  • You have been off supervision for your sex offense for at least 10 years,  or if you were not subject to supervision for the sex crime, 10 years after the date you were discharged from the jurisdiction of the court under 163A.125(2)(e).

  • You have never been convicted of a 'person felony' or a 'person class-a misdemeanor' since you were convicted of the sex offense which requires you to register. For a list of person-crimes, visit: Oregon CJC Chapter 213 Definition 14

  • You have never been found guilty in the first degree of any of the following: Rape, Sodomy, Unlawful sexual penetration, Burglary (with the intent to commit a sex crime), or Kidnapping (if the victim was under the age of 18), or an equivalent of any of these in another United States court.

  • You have never been designated as a Predatory Sex Offender (between February 10, 2005 and December 31, 2013), a Sexually Violent Dangerous Offender (ORS 137.765), or received a classification from the Psychiatric Security Review Board(PSRB).

  • You have never been classified at Notification Level III.

  • You are not currently classified at Notification Level II, and at least 5 years have passed if you've ever been RE-classified from Notification Level II to Notification Level I by the Board or any other classifying agency. Only Notification Level I registrants are eligible for relief (Level II and III registrants, see re-classification).

*PLEASE NOTE* Incomplete applications may not be considered

**The Board may conduct a reassessment of your notification level and your level may increase after a reassessment.**


Please click here to download the application for reclassification


What to Expect at Your Hearing


  1. Show up on time and be prepared by having your hearings packet available.

  2. You will appear before a panel that will ask you sensitive questions.

  3. It is your responsibility to prove, by clear and convincing evidence, to the hearings panel that you are no longer a risk to the community.

  4. Please refer to the notice of rights for more information.

Risk Assessment

The Board of Parole uses the Static-99R risk assessment tool to determine the notification level of adult male registrants. The Static-99R is the most widely used sex offender risk assessment tool and is used throughout the United States and around the world. The Static-99R assess the relative risk of an individual to reoffend sexually based on the 10 risk domains most closely related to sexual recidivism. More information on the Static-99R Risk Assessment tool can be found here.

For registrants who do not qualify for the Static-99R risk assessment (i.e. females, juveniles, and certain other registerable offenses) the LS/CMI and an in person evaluation will be completed to determine an registrants notification level.

For historical registrants, the Board uses this methodology to calculate age (Item 1 on the Static-99R).

Notification Levels

There are three Sex Offender Notification Levels (I, II, III) that represent the range of people, schools, and businesses in the community who may receive notification about a registrant. This notification is based on the level an individual has been given. If you do not know your current notification level, please contact the Oregon State Police Sex Offender Registration Unit at (503) 934-1258 or email at Sexoffender.Questions@state.or.us. Below is a list of those who may receive notification on a registrant if the registrant has been classified as:

Level I (low):

  • A person that lives with the registrant.

Level II (moderate):

  • A person whom the registrant is in a relationship with
  • Residential Neighbors and churches
  • Community parks, schools, and child care centers
  • Convenience stores and businesses
  • Other places that children or other potential victims may frequent
  • Long term and residential care facilities

Level III (high):

  • All Items under Level II
  • Local or regional media sources
  • Anyone who visits the Oregon State Police Sex Offender Registry Website

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×