CHC

Training for Provider Agencies or Branches regulated by DHS or OHA

The administrative rules require that most staff and provider contacts who process background check information must successfully complete training to become a Qualified Entity Designee (QED). The training materials are available by contacting the BCU training coordinator at (503) 378-5470 or toll-free at (888) 272-5545. You may also e-mail bcu.info@state.or.us and indicate that you would like the current training materials.

In order to stay up to date on OED requirements and rule changes, eSubscribe to the Background Check website.

Materials for Clearinghouse Agencies

Effective 1/5/2016. The Clearinghouse has moved from the Oregon State Police to the BCU. Clearinghouse agencies must have at least one Clearinghouse Authorized Designee.

Other Tools and resources

  • The Background Check Unit now runs all background checks through the Criminal Records Information Management Systems (CRIMS)

  • Definitions of crimes in Oregon are location in the Oregon Revised Statutes. As of 1/4/2016, there are no longer 5 year or 10 year crimes; all convictions are considered potentially disqualifying regardless of how old they occurred.

  • ORS 443.004 Impacts paid positions under the Department of Human Services, Aging and People with Disabilities programs and Developmental Disabilities programs, and the Oregon Health Authority, Addictions and Mental Health Division.
     
  • Oregon State Archives Division Records Retention Schedule (Revised 03/2011) for background check documents.​​