Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Welcome Page

The Veterinary Medical Examining Board was established in 1903 to test, license, monitor and regulate practitioners of veterinary medicine in the state. The Board works in the interest of  animal health and welfare, public health, and consumers of veterinary services. The Board's authority comes from the Veterinary Practice Act, Chapter 686 of the Oregon Revised Statutes and Chapter 875 of the Oregon Administrative Rules.

PLEASE NOTE- License renewal fees for Veterinarians, Certified Veterinary Technicians are WAIVED for 2021.  You still need to complete the online renewal; the fee will be displayed as $0 for the above licenses.  Please select ***PAY BY CHECK*** to complete the process and submit your license renewal.  You'll be notified when the renewal is processed and your 2021 license is available to print from your account portal. 

OAR 875-010-0065 License Renewal Procedures

COVID-19 Information

Licensee Portal

 What can you do in the Licensee Portal?

  • Update your contact information
  • Update your work location
  • View and pay any invoices or receipts
  • Update and track your continuing education
  • Update supervision information for veterinary interns
  • Manage facilities for which you are the managing veterinarian
  • Print a copy of your License

 


Instructions for Activating your Account:

  1. Go to the Licensee Portal 
  2. Click “Activate Now” at the bottom of the screen.
  3. Enter your email address, SSN, and Birth Date.
    Important: You’ll need to provide the email address that the Board has on file for you. If you no longer have access to this email account, or if you’re not sure what email address the Board has on file, contact Board staff by email to verify or update your address.
  4. Check your email to get your temporary password
    Note: If you don’t receive an email, remember to check your spam folder!
  5. Return to the Licensee Portal login page and login with your temporary password
  6. Set a new password and security questions.
  7.  You’ve activated your Licensee Portal!

    GOVERNOR BROWN ORDERS FEE WAIVERS

    Pursuant to authority under ORS 401.168(2) Governor Kate Brown hereby orders waiving the following fees:

     
    • Certified Veterinary Technician, application and license fee of $35.
    • Veterinary Intern, application $75, license $150.
    • Initial Veterinary License, application $75, license $150.

    This order is made in recognition of current economic uncertainty and to maintain the workforce and facilitate new applications for veterinary professional licenses.

    It is effective immediately and will remain in place until further notice.

    Applicants should complete forms available on this webpage and must meet all other requirements except for payment of fees. If unable to obtain notary services, applicants may instead include with the application a copy of a government-issued ID, such as driver’s license, school identification card, or passport.



COVID-19 Update

May 4, 2021
Oregon OSHA’s Adoption of Rules Addressing the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency in All Oregon Workplaces https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2021/ao2-2021-letter-cov19-allworkplaces.pdf

July 2020
Governor Brown has announced that, effective July 1st, 2020, face coverings will be required for indoor public spaces statewide.  Current data from OHSU and the University of Washington indicates a surge in cases affecting the 20-40 year age group.  This is the average age of employees in the veterinary workforce.  For these reasons, veterinary facilities should require clients and staff in facilities to wear face coverings and practice physical distancing to every extent possible.  Continuing to officer curbside service is strongly recommended.

These requirements and recommendations are made in hopes of preventing another statewide shut-down.  Ideally, veterinary staff should wear face shields if interacting with clients who enter the facility and may be exempt from wearing face coverings.  (Exempted are children under 12 years of age and individuals with conditions that preclude wearing a face-covering.  For further information on exemptions, please go the Oregon Health Authority website, below.)   It is critical that veterinarians remain mindful of the uncertainties of the times and be considerate of their employees, clients and the public.  

As a reminder,

  • Face coverings should be worn inside the facility at all times.
  • Wash your hands every time before and after patients and every time you touch your mask
  • Maintain a 6-foot physical distance between yourself and others whenever possible
As licensed members of Oregon’s scientific community, you can significantly influence public health and safety by supporting and reinforcing these requirements.  Please continue to monitor the Oregon Health Authority website for updates and guidance.

Licensee Vaccination Information-Updated 04/15/2021

The Oregon Health Authority (OHA) has asked all of the state's vaccine providers to immediately pause administering the Johnson and Johnson vaccine, following an announcement on April 13, 2021 from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Please review the links below for more information.

OHA Announcement

OHA Press Release

Updated 3/1/2021:

OHA3527A and OHA3527C has information on the next phases for vaccine recipients.  You will find excellent information in the two OHA attachments that explains who comes next and the estimated time frame. There is additional and more detailed information available on OHA's website.

Updated 1/11/2021:

All licensees are scheduled to be vaccinated in Phase 1a.  Phase 1a was initially broken into four groups intended to create a sequential prioritization of receiving the vaccine (where all individuals in group 1 of phase 1a would be vaccinated before moving to individuals in group 2 of phase 1a, etc.), however, as of 1/5/2021, OHA announced they will move this week to start vaccination of all individuals in all four groups within 1a.

OHA is working with entities authorized to administer the vaccine, such as hospitals, local public health authorities, retail pharmacies and other partners to finalize the distribution plans across the state.  Each entity serving as a distribution point is responsible for the specific logistics, timing and requirements for individuals eligible to receive the vaccine.

The best ongoing source of information from OHA regarding the vaccine distribution is covidvaccine.oregon.gov 

For where to get a vaccine in your specific area, contact your local hospital, public health agency or other entity identified as a vaccine distribution point.  As OHA works with these partners, they will also be posting the specific detail for where and when you can get your vaccine at the site listed above. We expect information to roll out over the next several days.

One announced program, for individuals in Phase 1a who live or work in Marion County, Salem Health is currently running a vaccination clinic at the Oregon State Fairgrounds starting Thursday, 1/7/2021.

OHA identified the goal of vaccinating all health workers in group 1a by mid-February, dependent on sufficient supply. 

Please be sure your contact information, including current work location is up to date with the OBCE so we have clear information about where licensees are currently located in order to support the distribution efforts.

More information can be found at Governor Brown's Press Release Page.



 



 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×