Employment discrimination questionnaire
What we investigate
The Civil Rights Division (CRD) investigates allegations of employment discrimination or retaliation and any supporting substantial evidence you submit.
Employment at will
Oregon is an "employment at will" state, which means that employers are free to hire and fire for any reason that does not violate the law. Not all unfair discriminatory treatment is unlawful.
For most claims, you must file a complaint within one year of the date of any discriminatory action/harm. The Workplace Fairness Act has extended filing timelines up to 5 years for some Oregon discrimination claims occurring on or after September 29, 2019. Please submit your questionnaire promptly to allow time for the intake interview, drafting of the charge, sending/receiving time, signing and returning to BOLI before the deadlines expire.
What is the questionnaire?
The questionnaire is a form that assists the intake staff in determining whether the division has jurisdiction to investigate the claims, and if so, the information provided on this form will be used to draft the complaint. If you file a formal complaint, the questionnaire will become part of a public record once the case is closed.
Filling out the questionnaire
You must complete all applicable portions of this questionnaire. Additional documents are not required at this stage.
It takes approximately 10 business days to hear back from CRD. You will be contacted as soon as your questionnaire is assigned to an Intake Officer.
It is your responsibility to contact this office in writing advising us of changes in your address or phone number.
Retaliation is often not unlawful. For CRD to have jurisdiction over a retaliation claim, you must show that the retaliation occurred because of your involvement in a protected activity. There are many instances of retaliation over which CRD does not have jurisdiction.
You may consult an attorney at any time before or during a CRD investigation. Your attorney may also draft and submit your complaint, but it must contain your signature. You are not required to retain an attorney.