An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
Oregon laws protect workers and ensure that you are paid for the work you do.
You must get paid at least Oregon’s hourly minimum wage.
The minimum wage you should get depends on which county you work in. Find your minimum wage rate here.
The minimum wage goes up every year on July 1.
For each 8-hour work shift you get these breaks free from work responsibilities:
You also get reasonable breaks as needed to express milk (and a private space to pump that is not a bathroom) until your child reaches 18 months of age.
Your employer can offer more breaks if they want to.
If your shift is longer or shorter than 8 hours, please refer to this chart.
This time is protected but often unpaid unless you have vacation, sick, or other paid leave available. Paid family leave is coming to Oregon in 2023.
You can take up to a total of 12 weeks of time off per year for any of these reasons
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how