Skip to main content



Businesses

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) has relaxed some of the requirements relating to delivery of malt beverages, wine and cider by licensees who qualify for same day delivery. OLCC also now allows “curbside" delivery and simplifies the requirements regarding time and volume limits. Visit the OLCC website for more information.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

One option to consider is whether you may be able to use Oregon's Work Share program. It helps employers prevent layoffs by reducing the schedules of workers, instead of laying them off, while benefits help to offset employees' lost wages. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Visit Business Oregon and the Small Business Administration to learn about financial resources that are available to your business.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Yes, employers can ask an employee returning from an affected area (or exposure to a person with the disease) to stay home. The incubation period for a coronavirus is typically 14 days. If someone develops the disease, they may be contagious for longer.

Any absence due to actual illness or an order by a public official declaring a public health emergency would trigger protected sick time. For employers covered by Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) or Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), a progression of the disease could result in a serious health condition that qualifies for protected leave (and a right to access to any other paid leave bank).​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Complete this online form if you'd like to donate services or resources.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Grocery stores may want to consider instituting the sale of ready-packed essential kits to limit exposure for workers and customers. Stores could offer a variety of pre-made kit options that include essentials and make them available for pick up or drive through.  ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Oregon law requires employers to give sick time. Employees get at least 1 hour of protected sick time for every 30 hours of work. Sick time can be used for many reasons, including if an employees' family member is sick, injured, experiencing mental illness, or needs to visit the doctor. Click here to read more about Oregon sick leave.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits may be available to those who are on a temporary layoff. These benefits occur for claimants whose employer stops operation for a short period of time, such as cleaning following a coronavirus exposure. In these cases, employees expect to be back to work in four weeks or less. Workers can get UI benefits, and do not need to seek work with other employers. They must be able to work, stay in contact with you as their employer, and be available to work when you call them back to the job.

Also, check with your insurance company or agent to see if your policy covers an epidemic or pandemic. Most business interruption policies cover business closures for events such as fire, a burst pipe, or a windstorm. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The Higher Education Coordinating Commission has rapid response services to plan for job transitions needed when a business closure or mass layoff occurs, including cases of natural and other disasters. Local Rapid Response teams coordinate with employer, worker representative, Trade Act and Labor. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Employers have a general duty to provide a place of employment free from recognized hazards that cause or are likely to cause death or serious physical harm to employees. Employees also have the protected right to raise good faith concerns about the health and safety of the workplace (even if the employee is wrong on the merits). A calm conversation about actual risks, supplemented with trusted material from sources like the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) on how viruses are transmitted may go a long way to alleviating concerns.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

To clean your home and workplace and reduce the spread of COVID-19, look at your cleaning products. If it says it kills coronavirus on the label, it is EPA-approved and okay to use. Visit this webpage for more information about what areas to clean and disinfect.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Read the COVID-19 related scenarios and benefits quick guide for an outline on what's considered paid sick leave, unemployment insurance, and paid family and medical leave. ​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Education

Yes. Governor Brown called for districts to meet this challenge and has charged ODE to help.

There are options available to continue meal service at school and non-school sites through the Summer Food Service Program or Summer Seamless Option. The Oregon Department of Education Child Nutrition Programs (ODE CNP) encourages sponsors participating in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and/or the School Breakfast Program (SBP), Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) and Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) to use Program flexibilities to help ensure that there is no lapse in food security during a closure.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Yes, the closure applies to any schools that Education Service Districts (ESD) operates.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Governor Brown is extending Oregon's physical closures for post-secondary education systems through the end of the current academic term and school year. She directed school districts, community colleges, and universities to complete the final weeks of the regular academic year by continuing distance learning and support to students. Stay informed about the status of colleges and universities by visiting the Higher Education Coordinating Commission website.

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Governor Kate Brown expanded Oregon's statewide school closure for the remainder of the school year. ​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The Oregon Department of Education (ODE) released Oregon's Graduation Pathways 2020 to help seniors graduate on time. This is the result of collaboration with educators, administrators, culturally specific community-based organizations, and the education community. This guidance recognizes that this closure is impacting less than 2 percent of our seniors' time spent learning from kindergarten to grade 12. It is important that we honor the dedication and accomplishments of the class of 2020.  ​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Schools are encouraged to organize with migrant education programs to arrange food transportation, so children do not go hungry during this time. Additional response steps can include Migrant Education directors completing phone calls to survey families informally and coordinating with local organizations.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

School-based health centers or school social/wraparound services will stay open if they comply with Governor Brown's guidance.

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Emergency Coordination Center (ECC)

The ECC is the state's unified emergency command center. The center has representatives from all major state agencies and is integrated with the Oregon Health Authority's public health response efforts, and the Office of the Governor. The ECC is focused on assisting local government response by working with county/tribal partners to ensure there is no disruption to critical services in Oregon. The following state agencies are represented in the ECC:

  1. Department of Corrections
  2. Office of Emergency Management
  3. Department of Education
  4. Department of Environmental Quality
  5. Department of Human Services
  6. Department of Justice
  7. Department of State Police
  8. Department of Transportation
  9. Judicial Department
  10. Business Oregon
  11. Department of Administrative Services
  12. Oregon Health Authority
  13. Oregon Military Department/Oregon National Guard
  14. Oregon Tourism Commission
  15. Public Utility Commission
  16. Secretary of State
  17. Department of Agriculture
  18. Department of Energy
  19. State Fire Marshal
  20. Department of Forestry
  21. Oregon Parks and Recreation Department​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The ECC operates out of the Anderson Readiness Center in Salem. The center currently operates on an 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. basis with duty officer coverage 24/7. These hours will be expanded as needed.

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Employees

Self-employed individuals generally do not pay Unemployment Insurance taxes and are not eligible for benefits. You can still file an application for a benefits claim.  ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries issues guidance related to Oregon's sick time and other leave time laws. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Oregonians can use Oregon Family Leave to take protected time off to care for their children during official school closures to limit the spread of coronavirus. This leave is not paid unless employees use available paid time off, they have, but it is protected. People who work for an employer that has at least 25 employees are eligible for OFLA.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

If your employer expects the closure to be four weeks or less, you do not actively have to look for another job to receive benefits. To get benefits, you must:

  • Be able to work;
  • Stay in contact with your employer; and
  • Be available to work when your employer calls you back to work. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

No. There is no special documentation or placards for people going to work or permitted activities.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

No. The Governor's Executive Order closes certain businesses, outlined in section (2) of the Executive Order. These businesses reflect operations that would make close contact difficult or impossible to avoid. Officers are not asking or looking for any type of special paperwork from your employer.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

State and federal deadlines have been extended. All state taxes are now due on July 15, 2020. Learn more from the Oregon Department of Revenue.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Please call your WorkSource Oregon center to ask about alternative options for completing your appointments. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Paycheck Protection Program money is distributed by your employer. This federal loan program helps small businesses keep workers on payroll by providing up to $10 million for payroll and certain other expenses.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

If you are sick for more than half the week or under quarantine, you would not be able and available to work. This is part of the requirements for UI eligibility. The Oregon Employment Department is working with partner agencies nationwide and the U.S. Department of Labor to seek benefit options for those missing work while quarantined. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

While the Executive Order prohibits the public from congregating at a closed business, employers may still have work to do on site. If employees are not conducting business that is prohibited by the Executive Order, and maintaining physical distancing, it is okay to still be at the worksite. No “passes" or paperwork is required.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits may be available to those who are on a temporary layoff. These benefits occur for claimants whose employer stops operation for a short period of time, such as cleaning following a coronavirus exposure. In these cases, employees expect to be back to work in four weeks or less. Workers can get UI benefits, and do not need to seek work with other employers. They must be able to work, stay in contact with you as their employer, and be available to work when called back. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Generally, you will not be eligible for unemployment benefits. You can file an initial claim to determine the possibility of receiving benefits. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

If you are sick due to the coronavirus, you are likely not able and available to work, which would mean you cannot receive unemployment insurance benefits. Being able to work means that you are physically and mentally able to do the work you are looking for or usually do, unless:

  • You were sick or injured for less than half of the week; or
  • You have a long-term condition preventing you from working, but you can still do some work.

    If you had an opportunity to work, but did not because you were sick, you likely cannot receive unemployment insurance benefits for that week but may be eligible for benefits for other weeks.  ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

If you are getting vacation or other leave pay while your employer is closed, you generally are not able to also receive unemployment insurance benefits. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Contact the Workers' Compensation Division of the Department of Consumer and Business Services for information on filing a workers' compensation claim related to coronavirus. They can also be contacted at 800-452-0288 or workcomp.questions@oregon.gov. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Generally, you will be eligible for unemployment benefits. To find out if you are eligible, file an initial claim. We will gather information from you and your employer about your circumstances to determine your eligibility. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Generally, you will not be eligible for benefits if your employer is paying you to remain away from the site or as stand-by pay. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Contact the Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Association (OSHA) for any potential violation of existing Oregon OSHA rules or directives issued by Governor Kate Brown.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

In this case, unemployment benefits would generally not be an option, because you must be willing to work and available for work you usually do. You can file a claim, and the Employment Department will gather information from you and your employer to see if benefits would apply. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

You will generally not be eligible for unemployment benefits if you quit your job. You can still file an initial claim to find out if you can receive benefits.  ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Employers have a duty to provide a place of employment, free from recognized hazards that cause or are likely to cause death or serious physical harm to employees. That said, privacy laws will prevent your employer from sharing any specific medical information of another employee.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The state has reached an agreement with several health insurance companies to waive co-payments, co-insurance, and deductibles for their customers who need COVID-19 testing. Visit the Department of Consumer and Business Services webpage for more information.

If you do not have health insurance, you should apply for OHP coverage, which fully covers the cost of getting tested for COVID-19 if they need it. Sign up here.

If you don't want to sign up for OHP, we encourage you to see a clinician through your county health clinic or through a federally qualified health center (FQHC). You can find a list of FQHCs in Oregon here. ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

General

The decision to stay open is up to individual facilities if they can limit the number of children in a group to 10 and can keep those 10 children separate from any other children. Please visit the Early Learning Division website for more information.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Effective March 25, 2020, all executive branch state agencies are closed to the public until further notice. However, many offices will continue to offer services by phone or online during this time. Please contact the individual agency for more information.  ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Effective March 13, 2020, all visiting is suspended at the 14 institutions across the state. The agency will review the suspension after a 30-day period. Visit the Oregon Department of Corrections for updates.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/30/2020

Currently there is no evidence of food, food containers, or food packaging being associated with transmission of COVID-19, according to the Food and Drug Administration. Like other viruses, it is possible that the virus that causes COVID-19 can survive on surfaces or objects.

If you are concerned about contamination of food or food packaging, wash your hands after handling food packaging, after removing food from the packaging, before you prepare food for eating and before you eat. Consumers can follow CDC guidelines on frequent hand washing with soap and water for at least 20 seconds and frequent cleaning and disinfecting of surfaces.



More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020


Gas retailers throughout Oregon can individually det​​ermine whether to allow self-service at their pumps through April 25, 2020. If the retailer requires customers to pump their own gas, there should be instructions posted on the dispensing equipment. Visit the Oregon State Fire Marshal website for more information. ​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Visitation at all Oregon Youth Authority youth correctional facilities and youth transitional camps is suspended until further notice. This applies to all visitors and volunteers. Families wishing to do phone calls or Skype video visits with their youth should contact the youth's case coordinator or camp counselor.​​

More Information

Last updated: 4/30/2020

The Department of Human Services (DHS) has restricted and limited entry in all licensed facilities including nursing homes, assisted living facilities, adult foster homes, intellectual or developmental disability group homes and provider-owned supported living sites. Facilities will be closed when residents or staff have symptoms or are being tested for COVID-19.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Here are some helpful ideas:

  • Make a daily schedule and include time for exercise, take a break from television and the news, read a book, play with the kids, or doing an activity you've been putting off.
  • Write a real letter on paper or a postcard and mail it to someone. ​​
  • Learn a new recipe. Websites such as www.epicurious.com have great recipes that you can try.
  • Learn a new magic trick or two. Visit YouTube for tutorials.
  • Go for a walk in your neighborhood. Notice how many different trees are growing near your home, how many spring flowers are coming up. 
  • Learn a new card game or pull out that old Monopoly board.
  • Above all, be kind, calm, and compassionate – with your family, your friends and with yourself. 
  • OHA has a handout with other useful tips for Self and Community Care During Social and Physical Distancing.  ​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

If you are out of or off work during the COVID-19 response, are healthy and have access to transportation, consider making a blood donation. Visit ​RedCrossBlood.org, call 1-800-RED CROSS, or download the Red Cross Blood Donor app to make an appointment to donate blood. Scheduling an appointment helps the Red Cross manage the flow of donors and ensure proper physical distancing. In addition to still being safe, donating blood is also allowed under Governor Kate Brown's Stay Home, Save Lives order.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Complete this onlin​e form if you'd like to donate services or resources for the Oregon Office of Emergency Management (OEM), or use this form to volunteer to assist.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Effective March 17, 2020, the Oregon Lottery disabled play on its statewide network of Video Lottery terminals until further notice. Terminals will remain in the field and Lottery staff will continue providing scheduled maintenance.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The American Red Cross faces a severe blood shortage due to an unprecedented number of blood drive cancelations during this coronavirus outbreak. Blood donation centers are taking every precaution to ensure donating is safe, including screening, sanitizing, and physical distancing.

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Pantries and food assistance sites across the state remain open — with increased cleaning and changes in service to help minimize contact among groups of people. If you need assistance, send an email to gethelp@oregonfoodbank.org or call (503) 505-7061. A team of navigators is available between 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

​You may be eligible for Employment Related Day Care. Contact the Oregon Department of Human Services by phone or online to see if you qualify.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Please call the Oregon Child Abuse Hotline to report suspected child abuse or neglect at 1-855-503-(SAFE)7233. More resources are available at the Oregon Child Welfare website.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The biggest risk comes from being exposed to a person with the virus, so take as few trips to the store as possible, avoid peak shopping hours, send only one person to the store, maintain six (6) feet of physical distance, and wear a mask if you are sick. Sanitize surfaces, like shopping cart or basket handles, with a disinfecting wipe before use. Wash hands or use hand sanitizer after handling food packages or cash and after touching card readers.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Get alcohol and drug rehabilitation help by doing any of the following:


Last updated: 4/15/2020

Oregon is working tirelessly to purchase its own PPE and has proactively requested supplies from the federal government. 

These numbers change frequently. Check for updates by visiting the Oregon Health Authority – COVID-19 webpage.​ Go to the top section titled “COVID-19 cases in Oregon” and click on the Daily Update.


More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Oregon Food Bank: By phone at 503-505-7061, by email at gethelp@oregonfoodbank.org, or use their online food finder website. They also are seeking volunteers to box and deliver food, if you are under the age of 60 and don't face higher risks for COVID-19. Please visit their volunteer webpage.

Partners for a Hunger-free Oregon: Offers resources and information to access basic food needs, including locations where families can get meals for kids during the school closure.

211 Food Information: Information and referrals to food resources across Oregon and Southwest Washington. 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP): Offers food benefits to eligible, low-income individuals and families. Apply here.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Contact the Oregon Department of Justice's Consumer Hotline if you see merchants charging exorbitant prices for goods and supplies: 1-877-877-9392 or www.oregonconsumer.gov.​​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Disaster Distress Helpline

800-985-5990
Text “TalkWithUs" to 66746​

If your employer has an Employee Assistance Program, reach out to them. EAP programs are often included in medical insurance coverage. EAP programs provide professional counselors who can guide you over the phone or in office visits. If needed, they can refer you to a provider in your medical plan

National Suicide Prevention Hotline

800-273-8255 (English)
888-628-9454 (Spanish)​

Veterans may contact the Oregon Department of Veterans Affairs or if you're experiencing an emergency, call the veterans crisis line at 1-800-273-8255 and press 1.

NAMI – National Alliance on Mental Illness

View this online resource guide for questions about stress management, working from home, feelings of isolation and loneliness. 



Last updated: 4/15/2020

Law Enforcement

People who violate the Governor's Order in an Emergency Declaration could be arrested or cited, which is a Class C Misdemeanor- the lowest level of criminal conduct designation. All Oregon law enforcement are united on the premise that police action is extremely undesirable, and we hope Oregonians comply with the Governor's Order. Citation or arrest would be an extreme last resort if a person failed to comply with the lawful direction of a police officer.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

No. The level of this violation is not for reporting police, fire or medical emergencies through 911. People may choose to self-educate their fellow Oregonians or if a large gathering is noted, they may call their respective police agency's non-emergency number.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Not for violation of the Governor's Executive Order, which specifically outlines efforts to avoid large gatherings, not restrict the movement of Oregonians. If, however, you are committing a traffic violation or crime that would be enforced independent of the order, you may be stopped, like any other day.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Outdoor Activities

Most fishing and hunting seasons remain open to residents in Oregon if participants maintain physical distancing and other guidelines set forth in the Governor's Stay Home, Save Lives order.

While seasons are open, access to many areas are closed. State Parks are closed, national forests have closed established recreation areas and some counties and cities have closed access to boat ramps or other locations. Please check the access restrictions where you are headed before going.

Physical distancing helps stop the spread of COVID-19. Maintaining a six-foot distance from others helps ODFW and other agencies like the US Coast Guard, Oregon Parks and Recreation Department, Oregon State Police, Oregon State Sheriffs' Association keep recreation areas open.

While all events are canceled (such as family fishing event or hunter education classes), lakes and ponds are still being stocked. All normal hunting and fishing regulations are in effect and people must do their part to maintain proper physical distancing. Check the ODFW website for the latest information.

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

No. The Governor has ordered the immediate closure of all pools, skate parks, outdoor sports courts, and playground equipment areas until further notice.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

If the facility with public boating access is open, then it's okay to go boating if you remember to maintain physical distancing within the boat and minimize the number of occupants and stay close to home. All boating regulations are in effect. Visit the Oregon State Marine Board website to learn about boat ramp closures, do online transactions, or take an Internet boating safety course.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

It is okay to go hiking if the activity is limited to non-contact and you can maintain an appropriate physical distance of six feet and stay close to home. Oregon state parks are closed until at least May 8, 2020. Visit the Oregon Parks and Recreation website for more information.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

All non-essential social and recreational gatherings outside of a home are prohibited until further notice.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Most National Forest System lands in Oregon temporarily closed to the public on March 26, 2020, including the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area. You can search the U.S Forest Service website for specific forest information.​

The Bureau of Land Management has temporarily closed many of its developed recreation facilities in Oregon to help limit the spread of COVID-19 including all campgrounds, and some day use sites, and restrooms. Trash pickup and sanitation services on most of these recreation facilities has also been suspended.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Officers will likely approach the youth and educate them on the Executive Order. Citations and arrest are extremely unlikely and reserved for only extreme circumstances.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

State Response

The Oregon Short Term Fund, which is used by the state and local governments to keep operating funds safe, is not invested in the stock market.

Separately, the Oregon Public Employees Retirement Fund (OPERF) is diversified across multiple asset classes. Strategies are based on the long-term financial horizon – not a single episode or economic cycle - and investment decisions are made to stand over the long haul, in both up and down markets. Treasury has taken deliberate steps over the past several years to make OPERF more resilient in anticipation of changing environments, including reducing and rebalancing risk, moving to lower cost index funds, and increasing corporate governance activities to ensure that our investment practices pursue strategies that produce strong, sustainable long-term results. This does not mean OPERF is immune to market volatility. Instead, it means the portfolio is better positioned to weather all types of economic and financial market conditions.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

A state Declaration of Emergency establishes directions to, and expectations of state agencies to use available resources to assist local communities and alleviate disaster conditions.

The Governor's declaration on coronavirus also grants broad authority to the State Public Health Director, Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and Oregon Office of Emergency Management (OEM) to take immediate action and devote all available state resources towards containing the coronavirus in Oregon.

​ 

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Transportation

​Some DMV offices are open by appointment only. Visit DMV2U.oregon.gov to learn more.​

More Information

Last updated: 4/15/2020

As of March 17, 2020, all Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) vehicle inspection stations are closed until at least April 15.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

Yes, generally. Some rest areas are connected to parks, which are currently closed to comply with the Governor's Executive Order.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

​Traffic is moving freely within Oregon and our border states. There are no roadblocks or restrictions of vehicle movement. Washington State is operating under a similar Executive Order from their Governor, so Oregonians should be aware of these provisions when traveling in Washington State.​​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

As of March 16, 2020, a suspension is in place on certain regulations, including those relating to enforcement of size and weight permits, hours of service for trucking, and the following: 

  • Enforcement of motor carrier accounts suspended for failure to file mileage reports, pay fees, or bond timely.
  • Enforcement of commercial vehicle registration and International Registration Plan (IRP) requirements.
  • Assessment of any applicable late fees.
​This suspension is in effect for a minimum of 90 days from the date of the order and up to 30 days past the end of the State of Emergency.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The Governor requested that President Trump and the Department of Homeland Security extend the REAL ID deadline for one-year. This will help ensure Oregonians will not be adversely impacted when attempting to travel domestically.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020

The DMV has partnered with Oregon law enforcement to exercise discretion in their enforcement of driver licenses, vehicle registrations and trip permits that expire during the COVID-19 emergency.​

Last updated: 4/15/2020




Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×