​Child foster care homes provide 24 hours of support and services in a home setting for children with developmental disabilities. Foster homes are licensed to support up to five children. Specific designations may include:

  • Regular Certification – Home is certified by the department that is maintained and lived in by the person named on the foster home certificate
  • Certified to provide care for a child with significant medical needs – Must have the equivalent of one year of full-time experience in providing direct care to individuals. Health care professional or the equivalent of two additional years of full-time experience providing care and support to an individual who has a medical condition that is serious and may be life threatening. Current first aid/CPR. Current references from at least two medical professionals.

Services allowed under this type

Foster providers or foster parents provide assistance with activities of everyday living, from grooming and eating to leisure activities as well as access to educational services which help children maintain or increase their levels of independence. Room and board is included in the service.

  • License Cycle: Two years

Licensure - Initial

Individuals interested in applying to become a foster home must contact their local Community Developmental Disabilities Office for initial application, testing requirement information and licensing.

Licensure - Ongoing

Licensure Renewals - At least 60 days prior to the expiration of the license, a licensing packet will be sent to the provider for renewal. The licensing review will be conducted by the CDDP. Any noted deficiencies must be corrected and submitted to the CDDP.

I/DD child foster care providers must demonstrate continued compliance with standards required by DHS, which are defined in Oregon Administrative Rules 411-346-0100 to 411-346-0230.

Also see: Types of Reviews