You are here:
You must complete 12 hours of initial training, including eight (8) hours of lecture and four (4) hours of hands-on training.
The lecture training must follow the Board's curriculum.
The hands-on training must cover some information in each of hydrotherapy, electrotherapy and physiotherapy.
There are approved trainers, offering live courses and online courses; however, if employed by a chiropractic clinic, that doctor may provide the necessary training. See DC Guidelines below.
Once you finish a course/program, you should receive a certificate of completion which you will submit with your application packet.
All applicants for chiropractic assistant certification must be fingerprinted, even if recently printed for another Oregon license or certificate. If you are a chiropractic student and you have already made application with this Board for your DC license, you do not need to be fingerprinted a second time for the CA application, or pay the $41.25 with your initial assistant application. Notify board staff.
* $41.25 of your initial fees covers the cost of the background report, not the actual fingerprinting.
Once the Board receives your complete application packet, board staff will send the chiropractic assistant examination to the email address you provided. The email is open book. You may use any notes provided by your trainer to help answer the questions.
Your chiropractic assistant certificate will be issued when
Oregon uses a birth month renewal system, so your initial certificate may only be valid for six months, or up to 18 months. Make a note of it when you receive your certificate.
Board staff will send an email to let you know that the certificate is ready. If the newly certified assistant is working in a clinic, the certificate will be mailed to that address; otherwise, it will be mailed to the home address.
Assistants may not provide therapies until the certificate is in their hand.
Renewal is annual. Board staff will email the "renewal notice" approximately 45 days prior to your renewal date (last day of birth month). The notice will remind you of your education requirements, and provide a link to the online renewal site (also provided below).
Assistant renewal fee: $75
Continuing Education hours: Six (6) due and two of those hours must be training on taking vitals. Refer to the appropriate section on the Continuing Education page (link below) for more information.
After your first renewal, your certificate will be valid from birth month to birth month.
Upon receipt of your notice check your records to confirm whether you have completed the required education hours. If not, complete those hours. Note: Hours must be complete before "renewing."
Log into the OBCE renewal site (link is below and in the header of the webpage), and complete that process: update home and/or clinic addresses, complete the Healthcare Workforce Survey, answer renewal questions, and make payment.
The Board has determined that all licensees (CAs and DCs) will be background checked (fingerprinted) every six years at renewal. Licensees who are due to be printed will receive a notice with their renewal notice (either in the same message or a second email).
CAs or DCs who were printed recently during the application process will not be printed again, until six years from that date.
Licensees are reminded that they are bound by Oregon Revised Statute 676.150 Duty to Report. See the statute/law below.
The 30 days immediately after a certificate expires is called the "grace period." The Board allows an assistant to provide therapies during those 30 days, but a penalty is added to the renewal payment. $25 is added during the 30 days, and $50 is added for 31 days and forward.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how