Skip to main content

Welcome Page



We will not process your application UNTIL we have your background information returned to OBMI by the Oregon State Police. The Oregon State Police process can take up to 30 days.  ONCE we have your background, applications are processed and approved within 14- working days.

Please allow ample time for us to process your application.  Thank you for your patience.



Applications are processed and approved within 14 working days. Please allow ample time for us to process your renewal BEFORE IT EXPIRES.  Thank you for your patience. 




Where To Find COVID-19 Vaccination Locations

Governor Kate Brown - Building A Safe & Strong Oregon - COVID-19 Information - News Releases - Watch Press Conference's
The Governor has asked the Health Related Licensing Boards to pass a model rule regarding compliance with the Governor's Executive Orders during a Governor declared emergency. The OBMI has complied with that request and has implemented a temporary model rule. Click HERE to view the rule filed with the Secretary of State. 

Clarification From Oregon Governor's Office Regarding The Temporary Rule.

Executive Director Notice


Due to COVID-19 Precautionary Measures: NO WALK-INS ARE PERMITTED. Our office is CLOSED to all persons except Staff and Board Members.

Please EMAIL all staff rather than call on our phone lines. Due to alternating work schedules, we will be best contacted via email. Use the email links under “CONTACT US" for your convenience. Your questions and concerns are important to us, please give us at least 24 hours Monday-Friday and at least 48 hours if you email over the weekend for a response.

The Mail delivery continues to contribute to delays in processing applications. Please use our online renewals if at all possible to ensure your renewals are taken care of the most efficient way possible during these uncertain times. For ALL applications and payments of fines, we recommend that you send your submissions with a tracking number. This will enable you to check the status of your submission. You can find links to USPS tracking HERE.

DO NOT wait until the last minute to renew-you will have a delay in your licensure!

The OBMI appreciates you for your work and important role as a medical professional, especially during the COVID-19 situation.

Thank you for your cooperation and patience, stay safe and healthy.



Mission Statement

"The mission of the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging is to promote, preserve and protect the public health, safety and welfare of Oregonians who are undergoing medical imaging studies performed by agency license and permit holders for the purpose of medical diagnosis and therapy."

Oregon Law Mandates that you MUST ALWAYS have an active Medical Imaging License or Limited Permit issued by the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging (OBMI) to legally perform any type of Medical Imaging in any modality. (ORS 688.455).  Any failure to comply with that law may result in civil penalties along with a permanent record of disciplinary action against a License or Limited Permit.  The Board is also required to report all disciplinary action taken against a License or Limited Permit to the National Practitioner's Data Base (NPDB).



OBMI Offers

Cultural Competence Course

Attention:   Newly Adopted Rules
Cultural Competency CE requirement
upon renewal of all licenses and permits.
Compliance with Governor's Orders
During A Declared Emergency.

Note:  GRACE PERIOD UNTIL: 12/01/2021
All All renewals applied for on or after
December 12/01/2021 will need to include
1- hour of Cultural Competency CErenewals applied for on or after 
12/01/2021 will need to include 1- hour of Cultural Competency CE.

C.E. Advisory Committee Meeting

May 2021 - Newsletter

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how