If you already have a current and valid driver license or motorcycle endorsement, you are likely NOT required to take this test.
If you take this test out of curiosity, your
driving privileges may be suspended
if you fail this test. If you have a valid license and are curious if you still know the correct answers, take our
online practice test
which will not impact your driving record.
It is a crime to knowingly make a false application for driving privileges, which includes allowing another person to take a test on your behalf. The offense is a Class C misdemeanor and is punishable by jail time, a fine or both. DMV will suspend your driving privileges or right to apply for driving privileges for a year if you allow another individual to take the test for you.
About Online Testing
DMV now offers Class C and Motorcycle endorsement knowledge testing online. You must use a desktop or laptop computer with a mouse and keyboard to complete the online knowledge test. You cannot complete the test using a touchscreen device including mobile phones or tablets.
The online Class C knowledge test is currently available in the following languages:
In a field office, the Class C knowledge test can be read and heard in the following languages:
The motorcycle endorsement knowledge test can be read and heard in the following languages:
Online Testing Requirements
You must use a desktop or laptop computer with a mouse and keyboard to complete the online knowledge test. You cannot complete the test using a touchscreen device including mobile phones or tablets. Your computer must have a functioning webcam to take the test.
Testers and proctors are required to provide a valid Social Security Number to register for online knowledge testing. Testers taking the motorcycle knowledge test online must already hold an Oregon driver's license or permit.
Clicking on the button below will navigate you away from the Oregon DMV to a trusted partner site.
Frequently Asked Questions
How often can I take an online test?
You can only take an online knowledge test twice in any 24-hour period. You are allowed to take each type of knowledge test four times using online testing. Any subsequent attempts must be made at a DMV office.
Why are Social Security Numbers required?
To verify tester and proctor identity, a social security number (SSN) is required to register for the online test. If you do not wish to provide, or do not have, a SSN you can test in a DMV office.
How do I get help with my online test?
For technical assistance contact the testing provider, Intellectual Technology Inc., with questions about the testing system at:
I don’t see an email about my test
It may be in your junk/spam email folder. The email will be sent from this email address: OR_PROD_K2DO@iti4dmv.com. If you find an email from “iti4DMV.com” in your Spam Folder, please mark it as Not Spam.
Does the proctor need to be a parent or guardian?
No. The only requirements for the proctor is that they are 21 years of age, have a social security number, and have not proctored more than five DMV tests in the past 12 months.
Who needs a proctor?
- Testers under the age of 18 are required to have a proctor register and observe them complete their test.
- Testers age 18 and older are not required to have a proctor.
How do I request an ADA accommodation?
- The online testing option does offer some accommodations such as an audio feature that will read the question and possible answers to the tester.
- Testers who may need ADA accommodation to take their test can contact DMV Customer Service to see what is offered in our DMV offices or submit a request online. Their number is 503-945-5000 and is available Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM; Wednesday 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM.