You are here:
We can provide you with a copy of your Oregon criminal history report or a letter stating you have no Oregon criminal history.
You will need to complete our form, provide your fingerprints, and pay a $33.00 fee. Due to the confidentiality of criminal history record information, results will only be mailed to the requestor.
Does this include information from other States?No. To request a record of your criminal history in another state, you will need to contact that state.
Does this include national information?No. Request a record of your FBI National Record Check.
Can you use a previously submitted criminal or applicant fingerprints already on record?No, sorry.
You can contact your local law enforcement agency, a fingerprinting service, or stop at our Salem office. Fees vary by locations.
The fingerprints need to be properly rolled using the blue applicant fingerprint card (FD248). See an example of this card at FBI.
Your fingerprint card must contain:
We offer fingerprinting only at our Salem office:
General Headquarters3565 Trelstad Avenue SE, Building 1Salem OR 97317.
The fee is $20.00.
Can my fingerprints be transmitted electronically to you to process my request?No, sorry. You will need to submit a hard copy of your fingerprints on the applicant fingerprint card.
Can certified mail be sent to your PO BoxNo, sorry. Certified mail must be to our physical address
Copy of Own Record UnitOregon State Police3565 Trelstad Ave SESalem OR 97317-9614
Mail your completed form, fingerprint card, and the $33.00 fee to: Oregon State Police – CJIS DivisionUnit 11P O Box 4395Portland, OR 97208-4395
This information is also on the form.
We will not mail results to your attorney, family, friend, or employer.
How long does the process take?
Generally, 7-10 business days to process your request and send the results out for delivery. This timeframe does not include mail time.
Can you expedite my request?
No, sorry. Requests are processed in the ordered received.
You can expedite the mailing process if you supply a pre-paid FedEx Express mailing envelope with our return address.
Can you send my record to the Secretary of State for authentication (apostille) for me?No, sorry. We can only mail to the person the record is for.
We provide limited access to another person’s Oregon criminal history record or a clearance letter stating the individual has no Oregon criminal history.
Under provisions of Oregon Revised Statute, Chapter 181A, a person or agency, other than a Criminal Justice Agency, or a Law Enforcement Agency, may obtain Oregon Criminal Offender Information.
What will I receive?
The law provides you any Oregon record of a conviction and any Oregon record of an arrest less than one year old in which there has been no acquittal or dismissal.This includes:
Is the individual notified about the request?
Yes. By law we must notify the individual of the request including who the person or agency is making the request.
They have the opportunity to challenge the accuracy of the criminal offender information. If no challenge is received by 14 days after sending notice to the individual, we will send to the person or agency making the request. Are there responsibilities for an employer or prospective employer? Yes. If you are an employer requesting information for employment purposes, Oregon law requires you to advise the employee or prospective employee before requesting the information. You need to tell us you have notified the individual and how you did that on the request. What if there is no criminal record information available? If there is no criminal information or the individual’s criminal record consists only of non-conviction data, you will receive notice the individual has no criminal record.How will I receive the information and how long will it take? Responses can only be mailed to you. There is a 14 day waiting period while the individual has a chance to review their information.
$10.00 for a copy of another individual’s criminal history or proof the individual does not have a criminal history. Available to request and pay online.
$20.00 for fingerprinting at our Salem General Headquarters. Many other areas offer this service. Check with your local police department.
$5.00 for us to notarize your copy of own record documents. We will not notarize a criminal history record of someone else.
Occasionally business, employers, or other agencies may require a notarized copy of your Oregon record to authenticate the results. Check with the agency requesting your information to see if a notarized copy is necessary.
We accept checks or money orders through the mail. You can also pay with a MasterCard or Visa debit or credit card.
Businesses who do this frequently can set-up an account with us to request a criminal history on someone else and pay online. This account is only for requesting information and processing payments. It is not for receiving criminal history information. The information will be provided by U.S Mail.
Oregon State Police – CJIS DivisionUnit 11P O Box 4395Portland, OR 97208-4395Phone: 503-378-3070
Request own records
Request another person's record
AccessOpen RecordsRegister for an AccountPay for an Open Record
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how