Skip to main content

About Us

The Oregon State Fire Marshal (OSFM) protects citizens, their property, and the environment from fire and hazardous materials. 

The OSFM combined with the Oregon State Police in 1993 to consolidate safety responsibilities. Founded in 1931 the Oregon State Police (OSP) is a multi-disciplined organization charged with protecting the people, wildlife, and natural resources in Oregon. We enforce the traffic laws on the state’s roadways, investigate and solve crimes, conduct post-mortem examinations and forensic analysis, and provide background checks and law enforcement data. We regulate gaming, the handling of hazardous materials and fire codes and educate the public on fire safety and enforce fish, wildlife, and natural resource laws. 

Our mission is to serve the State of Oregon with a diverse workforce dedicated to the protection of people, property, and natural resources. 

Our values represent the “moral compass” of our agency. We are committed to living these values every day and embodying them in our daily actives as public safety professionals: 

Honor – We will honor the mission entrusted to us by preserving and protecting the public’s safety. 
Dedication – We are dedicated to delivery excellent public safety services. 
Loyalty – We are loyal to the agency’s public safety mission and the citizen’s we service. 
Compassion – We will serve all people and fulfill our duties with the utmost understanding and empathy.
Integrity – We will act with the highest level of responsibility and accountability in accordance with the public’s interest and trust.
In 1917 OSFM began with the State Insurance Commissioner serving as ex officio State Fire Marshal.  In 1963 OSFM separated from the insurance commissioner and served under the Governor. In 1971, the Legislature incorporated OSFM under the Department of Commerce and provided for the appointment of a State Fire Marshal and the establishment of a separate administration office. The Department of Commerce dismantled in 1987, and OSFM transferred to the Executive Department until 1993. 

Past to present State Fire Marshals: 
C. Walter Stickney, 1963-1973
Clyde W. Centers, 1974-1981
Olin L. Greene, 1982-1990
Everett G. Hall, 1990-1993
Robert T.  Panuccio, 1994-2000
Robert L. Garrison, 2001-2004
Nancy Orr, 2004-2008
Randy R. Simpson, 2009-2010
Mark Wallace, 2011-2014

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how