Skip to main content

Turn-in-Poachers (TIP)

Poaching (illegal take of game or fish), trespassing, littering, theft, destroying of property and road closure violations affect all Oregonians.

 
Poaching wildlife and damaging habitats affects present and future generations of wildlife, impacts communities and the economy, and creates enforcement challenges. People who "work" the system and falsely apply for resident license or tags are not legally hunting or angling and are considered poachers.

 
Our Turn-in-Poachers (TIP) reward pays or offers preference points for information leading to an arrest or issuance of a citation for the illegal killing or taking of wildlife or illegally obtaining Oregon hunting or angling licenses or tags.
 
TIP rewards can also be given for the illegal taking, netting, snagging, and/or dynamiting of salmon, steelhead, sturgeon, and/or large numbers of any fish listed in Oregon statue as a game fish.
 
Complete our online form below or, download a paper copyform and return to us in person, call us, e-mail, fax, or mail.

 
When making a report, provide as much of the following information as possible:
  • Nature of violation or activity observed or advised about
  • Location of activity (Road number, Milepost, GPS, Range, etc.)
  • Date and time of violation/activity
  • Description of any vehicle involved
  • Name and/or description of violator
When reporting a violation, advise the Trooper of your interest in requesting a cash reward or preference points.Only one will be provided. 

 
TIPs are anonymous.
 
Preference Points Rewards
5 Points~Bighorn Sheep
5 Points~Rocky Mountain Goat
5 Points~Moose
5 Points~Wolf
4 Points~Elk
4 Points~Deer
4 Points~Antelope
4 Points~Bear
4 Points~Couger
Cash Rewards
$1,000 Bighorn Sheep, Mountain Goat & Moose 
$500 Elk, Deer & Antelope 
$300 Bear, Cougar & Wolf
$300 Habitat Destruction 
$200 Illegally obtaining Oregon hunting or angling license or tags
$100 Game Fish & Shellfish
$100 Upland Birds & Waterfowl or Furbearers
 

 
 
​Contact

Report a Wildlife or Habitat Law Violation or Suspicious Activity 
Dial 1-800-452-7888 or
*OSP or *677 from a mobile phone

Or email: TIP@state.or.us
Hours
8:00AM - 5:00PM, Monday - Friday

 
In Cooperation with Oregon Hunters Association and Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife.
Oregon Fish and Wildlife LogoOregon Hunters Association Logo

OSP Logo



 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×