Skip to main content

Public Records Requests

We offer several types of public records.  Requests require a completed form and a fee. Please be as specific as possible when providing information. 

 

​For Oregon State Police or Oregon State Fire Marshal records, use one of these forms PDF or Word.  

Include as many details or information as you can. Include address, highway, milepost, exit number, city, county, well-known landmark, dates, timeframe, parties involved, or case number if it might be in the record.

For copies related to doing business with OSP include a contract number or a request for proposal number.
 
Other records:

Medical Examiner Records

Criminal History Records on yourself or another person.

​The court you were cited into will have a copy of your citation. If you are unsure what court your citation was sent to, complete our public records request form.

The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles handles these requests; visit www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV or call them at 503-945-5000.

​We process requests on a case-by-case basis. Fees vary depending on the actual time required to research and provide the information.  You should submit your request without payment. We will review your information and provide you with a letter explaining the required fees. 

The State has a standardized fee schedule. Some of the more common fees are listed below:
 
Labor

There is no charge for the first 30 minutes of staff time. After that, charges are assessed for staff time-based on the level of skill or expertise required to complete the work performed. This includes time for research, locating records, compiling, editing, or otherwise processing information and records. 

Fees for staff time
$25 per hour for clerical staff
$40 per hour for managerial level staff
$75 per hour for professional level staff

DOJ or other applicable legal fees are charged at the actual hourly rate set by statute ORS 192.324(4)(b). 

Photocopies

Current price list for DAS State Printing and Distribution

CD or other Media Storage Device
Actual cost according to statewide price agreement with provider of office supplies. Due to the threat of computer viruses, OSP does not permit requestors to provide their own disks or other media storage devices. 

Electronic Transmission
There is no charge to send you documents by email or another electronic transfer method. 

Delivery
The actual cost for delivery of records such as postage or courier fees. 
 
Certification
$5.00 for each true copy certification (each document, not each page).
 
Other Agency specific fees:
 
Investigative reports
$12.50 flat rate if staff time to find and process record request does not exceed 30 minutes. Includes up to 10 pages.  

$25.00 per hour if staff time exceeds 30 minutes or the responsive records exceed 10 pages, additional per page changes and staff fees will apply. Portions of hours will be pro-rated in intervals of 15 minutes. 
 
Officer Notebook
$25.00 Flat rate if staff time to find and process record requests does not exceed 30 minutes. Includes up to 10 pages of notes. 
 
Video/Audio Tapes or DVDs/CDs w/photographs/video clips, etc.
$30.00 each 
$25.00 per hour if redaction of images or audio is necessary, additional staff fees will apply and portions of hours will be pro-rated in intervals of 15 minutes. 
$12.50 Official maintenance records specific to one radar/laser unit
 
Dispatch communication audio cassette tape or other electronic media (as it becomes available)
$40.00 Flat rate if staff time to find and process requested conversations does not exceed one hour and redaction of audio is not necessary. 
$40 per hour if research exceeds one hour or redaction of audio is necessary, additional staff fees will apply. Portions of our swill be pro-rated in intervals of 15 minutes.  Read the state policy.​

Check or money order.​

​We can evaluate your request for a fee waiver or reduction.  Requests must meet a “public interest” test in order to receive a fee waiver or reduction. This is explained further in the guidance provided by DAS Statewide Policy 107-001-030.

It may take up to 30 days or more depending on staff availability, the nature of the request, and the volume of records being requested.

Contact us at central.records@state.or.us and we'll look into it. If you have received correspondence from us with a reference number, please include the number in your email.

Oregon State Law allows some records and information to be withheld and prohibits others from being released. Each request is reviewed on a case-by-case basis. If some or all of the requested records are exempt under public records law, the records will be redacted. Here are some examples of information that may be considered confidential and exempt from disclosure: 

  • Open investigations
  • Child abuse
  • Personal information 
  • Medical information
  • Images of deceased individuals
​Contact

Central Records Section
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
Salem, OR 97317
Phone: 503-378-3725 ex.44444
Fax: 503-378-6300
central.records@state.or.us

Hours
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM, Monday - Friday

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×