Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

State-Supported Regional Water Planning and Management Workgroup

The Oregon State Legislature passed House Bill 5006 in June 2021, directing the Oregon Water Resources Department and Oregon Consensus to convene a workgroup that would “develop a framework and path for state-supported water planning and management at the water region and/or basin level". The bill directed the workgroup to:

  • Consider regional water planning and management opportunities that build on the 100 Year Water Vision and further the goals of the state's Integrated Water Resources Strategy.
  • Be comprised of a balanced membership including, but not limited to, conservation groups, agricultural water users, municipal water users, environmental justice organizations, tribal interests and state agencies.

The workgroup met regularly throughout 2022 and used a consensus based process to develop a set of recommendations to inform future policy development, funding allocations, and guidance around water planning and management and the next generation of the state's Place-Based Integrated Water Resources Planning Program. Those recommendations can be found in the Work Group's Final Report (below).

Workgroup Meetings

The workgroup first convened on January 31, 2022, with members representing the organizations, tribal interests, and state agencies described in HB 5006 and further refined by the Process Leadership (a list of workgroup members is available below).

Workgroup meetings occurred monthly in 2022. Meeting recordings are available below. Meeting materials, including agendas, written summaries, and draft documents, can be found here.

Meeting Schedule for 2022:

Public Engagement Opportunities

Workgroup meetings were open to the public and recordings were posted on the OWRD YouTube Channel. Between June and December, the public has been invited to provide comments on the work of the group during workshop meetings.

More Information

​Adam Denlinger, SDAO, Seal Rock Water District
Ana Molina, Environmental Equity Committee
Anton Chiono, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
April Snell, Oregon Water Congress
Bob Rees, NW Guides and Anglers Association, recreation industry interest
Bobby Brunoe, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs
Calla Hagle or Jason Fenton, Burns-Paiute Tribe
Caylin Barter, Wild Salmon Center
Chandra Ferrari, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ex-officio)
Chrysten Rivard, Trout Unlimited
Courtney Crowell, Oregon Governor's Office (ex-officio)
Dan Thorndike, Oregon Business Council
Daniel Newberry, Johnson Creek Watershed Council
Donna Beverage, Union County Commissioner
Heather Bartlett, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Indians
Holly Mondo, Harney Community-Based Water Planning Collaborative
Illeana Alexander (formerly Roselynn Lwenya), Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians
Jeff Stone, Oregon Nurseries Association
Jennifer Wigal, Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (ex-officio)
JR Cook, NE Oregon Water Association
Kate Fitzpatrick, Deschutes River Conservancy
Kathleen George, Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde
Kelly Timchak, Curry Watersheds Partnership
Kimberley Priestley, WaterWatch
Lauren Poor (formerly Mary Anne Cooper), Oregon Farm Bureau
Margaret Magruder, AOC, Columbia County Commissioner
Niki Iverson, LOC, Water Director City of Hillsboro & Chair of LOC Water/Wastewater Policy Committee
Oriana Magnera, Verde
Peggy Lynch, League of Women Voters
Racquel Rancier (formerly Tom Byler), Oregon Water Resources Department​​ (ex-officio)

For more information contact:

Oregon Consensus, Senior Project Manager

Oregon Consensus, Project Associate

Lili Prahl 503-871-5868
WRD, Regional Planning Coordinator