Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Lane Area Commission on Transportation
Lane ACT
Lane County map
Lane ACT (in green)
About Lane ACT
Area: Lane County
History: The 2009 Oregon Legislative Assembly enacted a law, requiring Lane County, in consultation with other elected local officials and with transportation stakeholders in Lane County, to develop a proposed charter for the formation of an ACT. Learn more
Approval: Bylaws approved by OTC on Nov. 9, 2010.
Membership: 29 - 31 voting members:
  • 1 Lane County commissioner
  • 12 incorporated cities (one from each city)
  • 1 tribal council
  • 1 Port of Siuslaw
  • 1 Lane Transit District
  • 1 ODOT area manager
  • 1 Central Lane Metropolitan Planning Organization
  • 1 Lane County Roads Advisory Committee
  • 1 Metropolitan Planning Organization Citizen Advisory Committee
  • 1 Highway 126E
  • 4 designated stakeholders (1 each representing freight, rail, bike/pedestrian, environmental land use)
  • 4 - 6 other stakeholders
  • ODOT area managers for areas adjacent to Lane County
  • Oregon Transportation Commissioners
  • Governor's Economic Revitalization Team
  • State legislators
  • Members of Congress representing Lane County
Leadership: Chair and Vice-Chair elected annually
Staffing: ODOT contracts with the Lane Council of Governments for technical and staff support
Work Program: Advise OTC on STIP; prioritize STIP projects; hear presentations on issues and developments on all modes of transportation.
Operating Documents:

Designated Trucking Representative Recruitment:



ACT Chair: 
Sid Leiken
125 8th Avenue, PSB
Eugene, OR 97401 

ACT Vice-Chair: 
Tim Brooker
PO Box 458
Veneta, OR 97487

Primary LACT Staff Contact: 
Denise Walters 
Lane Council of Governments 
859 Willamette Street, Suite 500
Eugene, OR 97401
Phone: (541) 682-4341
Fax: (541) 682-42635
ODOT Contacts:
Frannie Brindle 
Region 2 South Area Manager 
644 A Street
Springfield, OR 97477
Phone: (541) 747-9611 

David Reesor
Senior Region Planner, Area 5
644 A Street
Springfield, OR 97477
Phone: (541) 747-1354

LaneACT Orientation Materials

History and Purpose

LaneACT Overview

About the Statewide Transportation Improvement Plan

2015 - 18 Statewide Transportation Improvement Plan — Enhancement Projects

Every two years the Oregon Transportation Commission establishes funding levels for various programs within the broader Statewide Transportation Improvement Program, or STIP. Beginning with the 2015-2018 STIP cycle, a different process is being used.

Previously, the OTC set funding levels and selected projects for each program individually. The new process focuses on identifying the best projects, regardless of category, and then uses available federal and state funds creatively and flexibly to deliver those projects. This change is in response to direction from the Governor and the OTC to integrate programs and funding sources strategically and become a truly multi-modal transportation agency that delivers sustainable transportation solutions addressing a variety of state and community needs and objectives.

In the Lane County area, 21 eligible applications were submitted by the Nov. 27, 2012, deadline. The applications reflected a broad range of project types. Over several months (from December 2012 to February 2013), the LaneACT membership reviewed and discussed the applications, with the goal of identifying approximately $30 million of projects to move forward to the next step in the project selection process. At its February meeting, the LaneACT membership reached consensus on a project list.

The projects will now be scoped by ODOT, and then reviewed with other Area Commissions on Transportation located in ODOT Region 2 to develop a set of projects to recommend to the OTC for funding. Region 2 comprises Lane, Linn, Benton, Lincoln, Polk, Marion, Yamhill, Tillamook, Clatsop, Columbia and western Washington counties. The timeline for the next steps in this process is included in this document.

Please see ODOT’s website on the 2015-2018 STIP development process for more information.


Meetings are the second Wednesday of each month at the ODOT offices in Springfield. Please see agenda to confirm exact time and location. 

Agendas and Minutes






Related Links
Lane County Board of Commissioners: 
Minutes, agendas, and news:

Other ACTs
Northwest Oregon
Mid-Willamette Valley
Cascades West
South West
Rogue Valley
Lower John Day
Central Oregon
South Central Oregon
North East
South East
Lane County