Oregon revised statutes 687.405-687.495, 687.895 and 687.991 - Board of Direct Entry Midwifery Laws
Oregon revised statutes ORS 676.575-676.625 and 676.990-676.992 - Health Licensing Office Laws
Oregon administrative rules Chapter 332, Divisions 015-040 - Board of Direct Entry Midwifery Rules
Oregon administrative rules Chapter 331, Divisions 001-030 - Health Licensing Office Rules
Proposed rules and recently adopted rules
The Board of Direct Entry Midwifery is currently engaged in two rulemaking processes.
First, the Board is adding rules regarding chairperson duties and governing the proceedings of the board, a need that was discovered during a review of ORS Chapter 687, as well as updating the GBS continuing education requirements, repealing the language related to 2016 renewals.
The Board has filed Notices of Rulemaking for the May 2017 Oregon Bulletin. Comments on the proposed rules, linked below, will be taken May 1 through 5 p.m. May 28. Comments received before May 1 will not be accepted. Please send comments to firstname.lastname@example.org or Samie Patnode, Policy Analyst, Health Licensing Office, 1430 Tandem Ave., Suite 180, Salem OR 97301. A public hearing will be held at 10 a.m. May 25, 2017, in the board room at the Health Licensing Office at the Tandem Avenue address.
Second, the Board is engaging in a full review of the standards of practice and other rules for LDMs.
Background: In 2009 and 2010 the Board of Direct Entry Midwifery (Board) made extensive changes to administrative rules including practice standards, termination of care and informed consent requirements. Since then mandatory licensure for direct entry midwives was implemented, and in 2014 the Health Licensing Office was legislatively mandated to delegate final order authority for all contested cases related to the practice of direct entry midwifery to the Board. During the same time frame, the Board was given the authority to review all complaints before beginning an investigation, managing and prioritizing investigations and determine disciplinary action. Also since 2010 Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records began collecting data for planned out-of-hospital birth, Oregon Health Plan began reimbursing licensed direct entry midwives for low risk out-of-hospital births and the Health Evidence Review Commission provided coverage guidance for out-of-hospital birth to assist in determining low risk births. This has raised a number of issues the board is now considering.
Newly adopted rules
HLO has adopted new administrative rules for the Board of Direct Midwifery regarding discounts in licensing fees. As of July 1, 2015, the rules allow an applicant applying for an original license totaling $800 to be granted a $350 license fee discount for a total cost for the license $450 until July 1, 2019. An application fee of $150 must be paid in order to grant the $350 license fee discount. The license fee discount is available to individuals who meet all application requirements for direct entry midwifery licensure under OAR 332-015-0030 and reside in Oregon. Only applicants who have not held a direct entry midwifery license in Oregon qualify for the discount. As of January 1, 2015, the rules allow an applicant applying to renew a license totaling $800 to be granted a $200 discount for a total cost for the license $600 until July 1, 2019. The license fee discount is available to individuals who meet all renewal requirements for direct entry midwifery licensure under OAR 332-020-0000 and reside in Oregon.
HLO adopted administrative rules for the Board of Direct Midwifery regarding the purchase and administration of antibiotics for Group B Streptococcal prophylaxis. This includes continuing education and training that covers intravenous administration and pharmacology regarding antibiotics. Rules were effective July 2015.
User friendly copy of administrative rules
Newly adopted administrative rules (fee changes)
Newly adopted administrative rules (GBS prophylaxis)
User Friendly Copy (above) of the administrative rules was created for your convenience. Official administrative rules are available on the Secretary of State's Web site under Chapter 332 Divisions 015-040.