Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Board of Direct Entry Midwifery

Latest News

IntroText

Board of Direct Entry Midwifery License Fees

​The 2013 Legislature passed HB 2997 making licensing mandatory for individuals practicing midwifery unless they were exempt. At that time the initial license costs were $1200 with a $1200 discount for applicants who met all licensing requirements and had never held a prior license. In 2013 fees for applicants renewing a license were $1200 annually. Documentation specifically related to fees was provided by the Legislative Fiscal Office (LFO) regarding HB 2997.

1 - 1Next
 

Practitioner information

The following regulated profession is overseen by the Board of Direct Entry Midwifery. Learn more about applying for a license, associated fees, laws, rules and more by following the link below:

About the board

The Board of Direct Entry Midwifery oversees the practices of licensed direct entry midwives (LDMs) in the State of Oregon. LDMs supervise the conduct and labor of childbirth, advise the parent as to the progress of childbirth, and render prenatal, intrapartum and postpartum care.

The Board of Direct Entry Midwifery consists of seven members appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Oregon Senate:

  • Four licensed direct entry midwives
  • One certified nurse midwife
  • One physician practicing obstetrical care or education at the time of appointment
  • One public member

Terms of service are three years or until a successor is appointed and confirmed. If a member serves two consecutive full terms, a period of at least three years must elapse before the individual is again eligible for appointment to serve on the board.

Board members

Board recruitment

Are you interested in serving as a volunteer citizen board member? HLO-regulated boards seek new members as current member terms expire. The Board of Direct Entry Midwifery is recruiting for a public member.

Overview of HLO-regulated professions and boards
Current board vacancies and information on how to apply

Questions?

For licensing qualification questions, contact Qualifications Specialist Derek Fultz at 503-934-5009 or derek.j.fultz@state.or.us.

For policy questions, contact Policy Analyst Samie Patnode at 503-373-1917 or samie.patnode@state.or.us.

For board recruitment questions, contact Paige Sims at 503-373-1915 or paige.s.sims@state.or.us

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×