Thirty-five (35) continuing education hours every two years
To maintain licensure, a licensed direct midwife (LDM)
must complete a minimum of thirty-five (35) continuing education (CE) hours related to services listed in Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 687.405 every two years.
For the current CE requirements, please see Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 332-020-0010.
Of the 35 required hours of CE, up to 10 hours can be taken by way of self-study. Use the Self-Study Continuing Education Verification form to track your hours.
Continuing Education Frequently Asked Questions
Ten (10) additional continuing education hours for LDMs attending less than five births in the previous renewal year
In addition to the 35 CE hours and in accordance with ORS 687.425, a LDM who has attended less than five births in the previous renewal year must obtain an additional 10 hours of CE. The additional 10 hours must be obtained during the next renewal cycle. For the current CE requirements, please see OAR 332-020-0010.
Forty-eight (48) continuing education hours for initial renewal - Legend Drugs and Devices
An individual licensed after January 1, 2017, must successfully complete 48 hours of instruction in an approved curriculum prior to purchasing or administering legend drugs and devices listed in OAR 332-026 or by the date of first renewal following initial licensing as an LDM. The initial renewal CE is comprised of theory, hands-on practice, and skills testing for competency which must include the following:
- 10 hours in Pharmacology covering drugs listed in ORS 687.493, OAR 332-026-0010 and 332-026-0020, including intravenous antibiotics Group B Streptococcal prophylaxis;
- Four hours of administration of medications through injection;
- Four hours in advanced treatment of shock;
- 16 hours in intravenous therapy including intravenous antibiotics Group B Streptococcal prophylaxis;
- Four hours in neonatal resuscitation; and
- 10 hours in suturing.
For the current CE requirements, please see OAR 332-020-0010.
48-Hour Legend Drugs and Devices Education and Core Curriculum (including GBS)
Legend drugs and devices must be taught by a
Midwifery Education and Accreditation Council (MEAC) accredited or
pre-accredited school, the Oregon Midwifery Council or by an organization authorized by the board.
The following have been approved for legend drugs and devices continuing education training:
Birthingway College of Midwifery
12113 SE Foster Road
Portland, OR 97266
Oregon Midwifery Council
5126 NE 20th Ave.
Portland, OR 97211
Documentation, attestation and audit
Documentation supporting compliance with CE requirements must be
maintained by the licensee for a period of five (5) years following license
renewal and be provided to the Health Licensing Office upon request.
Each licensee shall document compliance with the CE
credit requirements through attestation on the license renewal
For current auditing and sanction information, please see OAR 332-020-0015.