Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

License Renewal Information
License Renewal Schedules and Information
Renewal dates for liquor licenses are determined by the location of the business. Oregon is divided into four renewal districts, with all licenses within a renewal district expiring on the same date. Go to the State Map(jpg) to view a map of the renewal districts.

Local government recommendations
The liquor license renewal process begins four months before the licenses expire, when the OLCC sends a list of licensees that are eligible for renewal to all cities and counties in a renewal district. They have 60 days to make a recommendation to the OLCC about the renewing licenses. During the 60 day period they can request an additional 45 days to investigate specific licenses, if they are considering an unfavorable recommendation. At the end of 60 days, if there is no recommendation for a license, the OLCC processes the renewal as if it received a favorable recommendation.

License renewal applications
License renewal applications are mailed to licensees approximately two months before the licenses expire. The license applicant must return the completed application to the OLCC at least 20 days before the license expires to avoid late fees. Applicants cannot legally sell or serve alcohol after the license expires.
Important renewal dates

 District 1District 2District 3District 4
Licensee lists to local governmentsSeptemberDecemberMarchJune
Application mailed to licenseeOctoberJanuaryAprilJuly
Late fees beginDecember 12March 12June 11Sept 11
Licenses expireDecember 31March 31June 30Sept 30
District 1:  All of Multnomah County and the City of Portland north of Burnside Street.
District 2:  Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Marion, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill Counties.
District 3:  Benton, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Lane, Lincoln, Linn Counties and the City of Portland south of Burnside Street.
District 4:  Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jackson, Jefferson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco and Wheeler Counties.

Non-Renewal License Lists