Refrigerators qualifying for a Residential Energy Tax Credit must be rated to consume at least 30 percent less energy than the minimum federal standard. The tax credit is 25 percent of the net purchase price of the eligible appliance up to the maximum amount listed for each model (below). Refrigerators are categorized into four tax credit tiers depending on their type.
|Tax Credit Amounts: 25% up to maximum listed
||30% + Better|
|SS/A = side-by side; auto defrost
|SI/A = side-by-side with through door ice service; auto defrost
|TF/A = top freezer; auto defrost
|BF/A = bottom freezer; auto defrost
Model numbers - Use of an "*" indicates that any character may fill this position in the model number. Additional characters may appear before and after the model numbers listed.
Capacity is the manufacturer’s reported interior volume in cubic feet of refrigerator and freezer compartments.
Percent is the percent better that the model is over the USDOE minimum standard for refrigerators sold in the United States.
Not all Energy Star models qualify for the Oregon Residential Energy Tax Credit.
Only appliances purchased new are eligible for the tax credit. If the model number of your equipment is not listed, your equipment may NOT qualify for the state tax credit. If you believe your model meets the performance standards but does not appear on the list, please send us an email.
If your model is listed, you can fill out the Application Form (PDF) and mail/fax it to us along with a copy of your receipt.
For more information, contact the Oregon Department of Energy toll-free at 1-800-221-8035 or 503-378-4040 or email email@example.com
Disclaimer of Liability
This list is provided for the consumer’s convenience to help identify appliances that are eligible for a tax credit. Manufacturers product offerings are constantly changing, therefore this list is not necessarily complete or up to date. Errors in listings can also occur. The consumer is responsible for verifying that the appliance meets the Oregon Residential Energy Tax Credit rules by either checking the product specification sheet or contacting the manufacturer or retailer.
Please click the following link to view a copy of the Oregon Residential Energy Tax Credit rules /ENERGY/CONS/RES/tax/docs/Rulemaking/RETC_rules_122210.pdf (effective January 1, 2011)
The Oregon legislature has passed House Bill 3672, which changes the Oregon Department of Energy’s tax credit programs. The RETC program is extended by HB 3672 to January 1, 2018, except for the alternative fuel vehicle credit (including electric vehicles) which retains its existing sunset of January 1, 2012. Amendments to the program are effective beginning January 1, 2012. HB 3672 eliminates dishwashers, clothes washers, refrigerators, plus air conditioners and boilers.
For refrigerators purchased before January 1, 2011, click here.
Click on a category below to sort.