Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

State Energy Loan Program Advisory Committee

​The State Energy Loan Program – which began in 1979 – offers long-term, fixed-rate loans to governments, tribes, schools, non-profits, businesses and individuals to finance Oregon projects that conserve energy or use renewable resources.

Eligible projects must be located in Oregon and generally fall into one of four categories: energy conservation; producing energy from renewable resources such as water, geothermal, wind, solar, or biomass; energy-saving recycling projects; or promoting alternative fuels.

Most loans are structured so that energy savings defray a portion of the loan payment. Loan applications requesting $100,000 or more are reviewed by the committee and a recommendation is provided to the Director of the Oregon Department of Energy.

The nine members are appointed to the committee by the Director of the Oregon Department of Energy. Each member serves a four-year term, which starts on the date of appointment, and until a successor is appointed and qualified. The members represent the interest of the citizens of this state and are knowledgeable in the areas of small scale energy technology, natural resource development, environmental protection, finance, agriculture, local government operations and utility operations. At least three members reside outside the Willamette Valley.