Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Public Records Requests
Public Records Requests
Any requests to inspect and/or copy public records must be made in writing. Please be as specific as possible as to what documents are requested. This will help expedite the request.
 

 Mail requests to:     E-mail requests to:
 Oregon Department of Energy  publicrecords@odoe.state.or.us
 Attention: Rachel Wray
 625 Marion Street NE  
 Salem, OR  97301-3737 
 Phone:503-378-5054  
 Fax: 503-373-7806
 
  
 
What to include in your request
  • The name and address of the person requesting the public record;
  • The telephone number or other contact information for the person requesting the public record; and
  • A sufficiently detailed description of the record(s) requested to allow the department to search for and identify records that respond to the request.
You may use the form below to request public records. You are not required to use this form; it is provided for your convenience only.
 
Responding to your request
 
Once your request has been received, the department will respond to it as soon as possible, notifying you of one or more of the following:
  • Whether or not the department possesses the records requested and the accessibility of those  records;
  • An estimate of the time and fees required to obtain the records; and
  • The state or federal law that prohibits the disclosure of the records requested, including a citation to the appropriate law relied upon.
NOTE: The department may request additional information or clarification to expedite responding to your request.
 
Fees
  • Secretarial/clerical, $25 per hour
  • Professional/technical, $45 per hour
  • Research analyst, $63 per hour
  • Information technology, application development and computer support services, $70 per hour
  • Actual attorney fees charged to the department for the cost of time spent by an attorney in reviewing the request and the actual records, redacting material from public records, or segregating the public records into exempt and non exempt records.
There is no charge for less than a half-hour of staff time. This minimum can only apply to one request per requestor per month.


NOTE: It is possible that the records you are seeking already exist, in whole or in part, either in our files or online. For instance, the State of Oregon recently created a Transparency website to help the public access certain information free of charge. If you are seeking information related to our incentive programs, please first visit the Transparency website by clicking here.