New Dementia Training and In-service Requirements for ALF & RCF Caregivers
The 2017 Legislature passed HB 3359. Section 25 of HB 3359 (now codified as ORS 443.433) focuses on pre-service and in-service dementia care training for direct caregivers who work in residential care and assisted living facilities. Rules to address this law are found in Oregon Administrative Rule OAR 411-054-0070.
ORS 443.433 and OAR 411-054-0070 (4) requires that all pre-service and in-service training provided to direct care staff must be approved by a private or non-profit organization that is approved by the Department. There are three entities that have been approved to review, evaluate and approve training. They include:
By linking to these respective webpages you will find applications with directions on how to submit training for approval by one of these entities.
OAR 411-054-0070 sets forth the following dementia training requirements for assisted living/residential care facilities:
- Direct care staff must complete pre-service training on specific areas of dementia care and 6 hours annual in-service dementia training.
- Pre-service dementia care training requirements for 2018: Direct care staff hired on or before December 31, 2018 shall complete pre-service dementia care training by December 31, 2018.
- Pre-service dementia care training requirements for 2019 and beyond: Direct care staff hired on or after January 1, 2019 shall complete required pre-service dementia training prior to providing direct care service.
- Pre-service training must include the following subjects:
- Education on the dementia disease process, including the progression of the disease, memory loss, psychiatric and behavioral symptoms;
- Techniques for understanding and managing symptoms, including but not limited to reducing the use of anti-psychotic medications for non-standard use;
- Strategies for addressing the social needs of persons with dementia and providing meaningful activities, and
- Information on addressing specific aspects of dementia care and ensuring the safety of residents with dementia, including, but not limited to how to: address pain, provide food and fluids; and prevent wandering and elopement
- Facilities must ensure and document that all direct care staff have completed the required pre-service dementia care training. Training certificates are portable for 2 years. However, a new employer may choose to accept the training or require additional training
- Annual in-service dementia training requirements start January 1,2019:
- Effective January 1, 2019, each direct care staff must complete (6) six hours of annual training on dementia care by the anniversary of their hire date in 2020. See chart below.
- The dementia care training may be included in the required minimum of 12 hours in-service training required for direct care staff within ALFs/RCFs.
- Dementia care training must reflect current standards for dementia care and be informed by the best evidence in the care and treatment of dementia.
Some trainings have been pre-approved, below is a graph that indicates which trainings have been pre-approved for either pre-service or in-service education.
Pre-approved trainings do not need to be submitted for approval. The only trainings that are approved as covering all the required pre-service training topics are Oregon Care Partners and CARES Health Care Interactive.
A provider may elect to create their own pre-service package that contains some pre-approved trainings and some that are not on the pre-approved list. Only those parts of the pre-service training that are NOT listed as pre-approved on the above list, such as a topic developed by the provider, will need to be submitted for approval.
- What trainings have to be submitted to one of the designated training entities for approval?
- Trainings created by the provider, individual trainer or vendor that are not included in the above pre-approved list.
- What trainings do not have to be submitted for approval?
- The above Pre-Service and In-Service Trainings that are on the pre-approved list do not need to be submitted for approval.
- If a provider has multi-sites that use the same curriculum, do they need to submit a separate approval request for each community?
- No, multi-site organizations may seek training approval for all communities if they are using the same program/curriculum.
Scenarios for Pre-service and In-service Dementia Training Timelines for Direct Care Staff
|Hired 2/1/98||Pre-service due 12/31/18||Start dementia training||In-service due 2/1/20|
|Hired 12/1/03||Pre-service due 12/31/18||Start dementia training||In-service due 12/1/20|
|Hired 8/1/18||Pre-service due 12/31/18||Start dementia training||In-service due 8/1/20|
|Hired to provide care on 6/1/19||Pre-service due 6/1/19||In-service due 6/1/20|