Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Title and Registration FAQs

Mailing your registration application but need a temporary permit?  Include your email address with your registration fee and request a temporary permit.  We will email the permit to you so you can use the boat right away.  
Processing time for titles with registration or transactions during the boating season can be 12-16 weeks.
 
Registrations renewed online are processed the fastest and are generally mailed within 3-5 business days.
 
Registrations renewed via US mail can take 4-6 weeks for processing and mailing.

​For new boats:

1) Complete an application for boat title/registration 

2) Furnish the original "Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin" (MSO)

3) Submit documents to the Marine Board with the required fees  


Used Oregon boats: 

1) Obtain the "Oregon Certificate of Title" from the seller with the release of interest line(s) signed and dated by all owners listed 

2) Complete the "New Owner" section 

3) Submit documents to the Marine Board with the required fees 


For used Oregon boats when the title is lost:

1) Obtain an Oregon lost boat title application

2) Obtain owner of record information by calling the Marine Board

3) Obtain release signatures on the lost title form from all owners of record (signatures must either be notarized or owners sign and provide a copy of valid photo identification, front and back).

4) Submit documents to the Marine Board with the required fees  


For out-of-state boats from title states:

1) Obtain the out of state title with releases by all owners

2) Complete an Application for Boat Title/Registration

3) Submit documents to the Marine Board with the required fees


For out-of-state boats when the title is lost:

1) Obtain a printout showing all owners of record from the title state

2) Obtain the title state's lost title/release form

3) Obtain release signatures from all owners of record 

4) Obtain an Oregon boat title/registration application form, complete and sign the form

5) Submit documents to the Marine Board with the required fees. 


For out-of-state boats from non-title states: 

1) Obtain the prior owner's registration card 

2) Obtain a bill of sale 

3) Complete an Application for Boat Title/Registration

4) Submit documents to the Marine Board with the required fees 


For boats that have never been titled anywhere:

1) Provide a proof of ownership.  

2) Complete an Application for Boat Title/Registration 

3) Complete a detailed boat history form

4) Submit documents to the Marine Board with the required fees ​

​Some boats in Oregon are required to be inspected by a marine law enforcement officer before they can be titled and registered.  Boats needing hull identification number (HIN) inspections: 

1) Homebuilt boats 

2) Boats never titled or registered in any state 

3) Boats registered in a non-title state 

4) Boats where the hull identification number appears to be incorrect.  


Boats that may be excluded are:

1) New manufactured boats with a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO)

2) Boats titled in another state if the title accompanies the application for Oregon title and the hull number listed is correct.  After the HIN inspection is completed, you'll receive a "HIN Inspection Certificate." You must return the certificate directly to the Marine Board at PO Box 14145, Salem, OR 97309.​​

​Is the combined weight of the boat and trailer more than 1,800 pounds?  If so, you are required to title and register the boat trailer with DMV.  Is the combined weight of the boat and trailer less than 1,800 pounds?  You are not required to title and register the boat trailer.  If you wish to obtain a trailer title for proof of ownership, please contact DMV.  In the event the trailer is stolen, most law enforcement agencies and insurance companies will want to see proof of ownership. All trailers used on the road must be equipped to meet safety standards.​​

Yes. Any watercraft with any type of motor must be titled and registered with the Marine Board. A title is required in order to register. 

1) Obtain the manufacturer's statement of origin and/or bill of sale

2) Obtain the application for boat title/registration

3) Submit documents to the Marine Board with required fees

1) Complete and sign an Application for Lost/Replacement Boat Title (signatures must either be notarized or sign and provide a copy of valid photo identification, front and back)

2) Submit documents to the Marine Board with required fees

All persons listed on the front of the title, including lienholders, must sign that the title is lost.

No. The Marine Board has developed partnerships with many boat dealers and sporting goods stores who provide exceptional customer service to boaters by serving as registration agents. There are approximately 75 businesses throughout the state that will accept applications and fees.  Locate the agent closest to you and submit your information and fees to them. They will give you a temporary permit to operate your boat and forward your application and fees to the Marine Board. The agent may charge you up to $8.00 for this service.

1) Write a request for duplicate decals or registration card that includes: your name, mailing address and the certificate number of the boat

2) Submit the request with a check or money order for $15.00 to the Marine Board; OR, 

3) Visit a local Marine Board agent (take proof of ownership) to obtain a temporary permit to use the boat right away. Agents may charge an extra fee for this service.  

 (If you believe the tags were stolen, contact your county sheriff's marine patrol. Then, to get new decals, follow the procedure above.) 

Mail or email a written request to the Marine Board, giving the boat's certificate number and description. Include your name, address, phone number and/or email address so we can contact you.  You can also go to the Marine Board's online store. Go to the "Online Services Tab" in the upper right hand corner, and select "Online Lookup."  The data can be filtered by boat or by name. 

Titles and license plates are required on: 

a) Floating homes (moored structures secured to piers or pilings, used primarily as a residence) 

b) Boathouses (covered structures on floats or piles to protect moored boats) 

c) Combinations (floating homes and boathouses together)

 

The Certificate of Title is valid as long as the ownership and location remain the same.  To obtain a title and license plate for a new structure:

1) Complete and sign the application for floating property

2) Complete and sign a Statement of Contractor or Builder form

3) Submit documents with the $100 fee to the Marine Board 

 

To obtain a title and license plate for a “never titled” structure:

1) Complete and sign the application for floating property

2) Obtain a copy of the personal property tax statement or the original bill of sale

3) Submit documents with the $100.00 fee to the Marine Board

 

To obtain a new title for an existing structure:

1) Obtain the title with release signatures from all owners

2) Complete and sign the application for floating property on the back of the title

3) Submit the signed title to the Marine Board with the $100.00 fee (note: titles must be submitted within 30 days from the date of purchase to avoid a late title transfer fee of $25.00.


Oregon has no salvage laws for boats. Contact your local county sheriff's marine patrol. They can help locate the owner, or help you find your boat. Keeping registration current helps law enforcement and the Marine Board match up missing boats and owners.

Yes.  If it's street legal: 

1) Make a copy of the DMV title

2) Complete and sign an application for boat title/registration

3) Submit the documents with $6 plus the $5.00 aquatic invasive species program fee for registration 

 

If it's not street legal:

1) Complete and sign an application for boat title/registration (mark construction as other and write in amphibious for the manufacturer). 

2) Obtain the previous ownership document with releases from all previous owner(s).

3) Submit documents to the Marine Board with the $50.00 title fee and the $6.00 plus the $5.00 aquatic invasive species fee for registration. 

If you apply at a local agent, the agent may charge an additional $4.00-$8.00 depending on services. You need to provide any Statement of Origin for the vessel to verify the serial number.

When you scrap, dismantle or destroy a boat, submit the original boat title to the Marine Board noting the condition of the boat.  If you are taking the boat to a landfill you may need to show them the title, before submitting it to the Marine Board. See ORS 830.710 and 830.720

A floatplane falls under the definition of a boat when it is not in flight and on the water.  All of the same boating rules apply for navigation, lighting, and meeting the mandatory education requirement by taking a boating safety course and carrying a boater education card.  Floatplanes are registered through the Department of Aviation.  

The state does not require boat insurance; however, it is highly recommended because boat collisions, engine problems, or other situations can arise. Some insurance companies give up to a 15% discount to a boater who has a Boater Education Card.  Boats can be covered by some homeowner insurance policies.  Contact your insurance agent to learn more. 

​The Oregon State Marine Board, in partnership with the US Coast Guard and National Association of State Boating Law Administrators define boat types for nationwide accident and fatality reporting statistics. 

​If you are selling your boat and need a replacement or initial title processed quickly, please contact the Marine Board before submitting an application through a Boat Registration Agent.

 
 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×