ASWB- About Licensing and Regulation
The purpose of licensing and certification in social work is to assist the public through identification of standards for the safe professional practice of social work. Each jurisdiction defines by law what is required for each category of social work licensure. Typically, there are four categories of practice that jurisdictions may legally regulate.
Bachelors: Baccalaureate social work degree upon graduation
Masters: Master’s degree in social work (MSW) with no post-degree experience
Advanced Generalist: MSW with two years post-master’s supervised experience - OREGON DOES NOT ACCEPT THIS EXAM
Clinical: MSW with two years post-master’s direct clinical social work experience
The clinical examination has been developed for use as a licensure requirement by Member Boards that issue, to MSWs with two or more years of experience in clinical settings, licenses for the practice of Clinical Social Work. The practice of Clinical Social Work requires the application of specialized clinical knowledge and advanced clinical skills.
Certain accommodations may be requested by contacting ASWB.
If you have a disability, you may be eligible to receive testing accommodations. To arrange for special accommodations, you must request and receive approval for the accommodation using this Special Accommodation Application. Please contact ASWB candidate services to determine the appropriate application process and relevant deadlines.
English as a Second Language (ESL) accommodations
When permitted by the relevant regulatory board, ASWB offers limited arrangements for test candidates whose first language is not English. Details are available in the Candidate Handbook, or contact us with specific questions.
Early Clinical Exam Approval- CSWA to LCSW
A CSWA is automatically given approval to take the ASWB Clinical exam when their completed plan is approved, and all hour and time requirements have been met. Once the CSWA has documented 75 hours of supervision, and 18 months of licensure, The Candidate must be on track to complete the LCSW requirements with in the six months following the request
. ASWB will allow the Oregon Board of Licensed Social Workers to issue approval for CSWA's to sit for the exam if he/she desires to. A year's time is given to take and pass the exam. If and early request is desired, complete the ASWB exam request form
Exam Preparation Materials
Resources to study for the ASWB exams are available from various sources. Search ASWB Exam study guide, and you will find an array of available exam materials to assist you in preparing and studying for the exam. The ASWB website provides an exam guide to inform you on the development of the exam, what areas are included on the exam, and how to prepare for the exam.
California or other Out of State Applicants
Applicants coming from California who have not taken the ASWB Clinical exam will need to apply for the LCSW as a candidate and gain approval from the board to take the exam. Upon approval of the LCSW, the applicant will have 12 months to take and pass the exam. If the exam was not successfully passed, the applicant will have the choice to practice as a CSWA under a plan of supervision, or if not practicing may request an extension to take the exam again. A reminder that an LCSW Candidate with no license number issued is not a license to practice.
Oregon Rules and Laws Exam
The Oregon Rules and Laws Exam
is required of every new applicant, and every LCSW looking to be a clinical supervisor for The CSWA plan.
The rules and laws exam is self directed and open book. Use the Oregon Administrative Rules and the Oregon Regulated Statutes to find the answers to 32 questions. You may take it as many times as you need to, in order to obtain at least a 90% passing score.