February 1, 2023 and for the next year, fees for
all new applications and CSWA renewals will be waived. LCSW, LMSW and
RBSW renewals are not waived. Funds to support professional license applicants
were allocated by the Oregon Legislature to help increase the number of
licensed behavioral health professionals practicing in Oregon.
have updated our application portal to accommodate the fee waiver and you will
be able to submit a new application without paying the regular application
fees. Our online licensing system will, however, charge a small ($5) processing
fee to complete the online transaction and submit the application.
the online licensing portal now allows you to complete most tasks online,
staff are available to help you via email and phone during regular business
With the influx of applications, please be patient. Applications may take 2-3 months to review, process and approve. To ensure faster response time and approval, please make sure your application and supplemental items are submitted.
Board of Licensed Social Workers (thentiacloud.net)
Application Supplemental Information
Application of all license types need to complete the following supplemental items. These will be a part of your online application process.
Previous License Verifications
Any and all professional licenses you hold OR have ever held will need to be verified directly from the board governing the license. If you are verifying a social work license, contact your board or previous board for verification to be sent to our office, or use License Verification Form. Address is listed below. If you have any professional licenses or certifications not related to the social work field, you MUST also send them the Non Social Work Verification Form. Any and all verification forms must be returned to our office at:
Board of Licensed Social Workers
3218 Pringle Rd SE Ste. 240
Salem, Or 97302-6310
Submitting Hours from Another State or Jurisdiction
A CSWA who wishes to transfer current hours from an out of state licensure must either have the State Board verify the hours, or have your supervisor(s) complete our Previous Hours From Another Jurisdiction form.
An LCSW applicant with less than 5 years of LCSW licensure, will need to submit the Previous Hours From Another Jurisdiction form completed by the clinical social worker who supervised your past work experience.
An LCSW applicant from another state who has been licensed for at least 5 of the last 10 years will be provided with an affidavit of practice experience upon license verification. No previous hours will be necessary.
Exam Requirements -
LCSW Application - Clinical Exam. Must already have passed to apply for LCSW
Clinical exam verification is required for all LCSW applications. It may be verified through previous state license verification, or ASWB score transfer system.
LMSW Application - Masters Level Exam.
A masters level exam is required for licensure of an LMSW, and may be taken after application is approved if you have not already passed the exam . Verification may be obtained through previous state license verification or ASWB score transfer system. If applying for the LMSW, and you have not yet taken or passed the exam, authorization will be provided after the application is approved. The authorization will be good for one year with the opportunity for an extension if necessary. Ask the licensing staff if you have any questions regarding the ASWB exam.
RBSW Application - Bachelors Level Exam
A bachelors level exam is required for licensure of an RBSW, and may be taken after application is approved if you have not already passed the exam . Verification may be obtained through previous state license verification or ASWB score transfer system. If applying for the RBSW, and you have not yet taken or passed the exam, authorization will be provided after the application is approved. The authorization will be good for one year with the opportunity for an extension if necessary. Ask the licensing staff if you have any questions regarding the ASWB exam.
If Applying for a CSWA, there is no ASWB exam required.
If you have already completed any of the above, you may request verification, however it is not required.
*** Update, As of July 2021: The Oregon State Police is experiencing a backlog in criminal background checks. We recommend all applicants complete their fingerprinting early in the process.***
3218 Pringle Road SE, Suite 240
The Board requires all applicants to participate in a nationwide fingerprint-based criminal records check. When registering for Fieldprint Oregon, use your zip code to find a location near you. The application is not complete until we receive the background check results. This process may take at least 3-5 weeks for processing, so plan accordingly. Do fingerprinting early.
To schedule a fingerprinting appointment for Live Scan, please follow these simple instructions:
- Visit www.Fieldprintoregon.com
- Click on the "Schedule an Appointment" button.
- Select the State Government for the state you are fingerprinting in.
- Enter an email address under "New Users/Sign Up" and click the "Sign Up" button. Follow the instructions for creating a Password and Security Question and then click "Sign Up and Continue"
- Enter the Fieldprint Code: FPORSocialWorkersDAS
- Enter the contact and demographic information required by the FBI and schedule a fingerprint appointment at the location of your choosing.
An official transcript is required as part of the application process and is to be mailed directly from your graduate school to the Board office at:
Board of Licensed Social Workers
Salem, OR 97302
E-script transcripts may also be sent through a secure transcript service to
Please note on your initial application if the name printed on your transcript is different from your current, legal name, and submit documentation showing your name change.
Oregon Rules and Laws Exam
The Oregon Rules and Laws Exam
, together with Oregon's Rules and Statutes, is an open book self-test. Once completed, the exam is uploaded to the portal application. As applicable, the Oregon Jurisprudence Exam may be required a second time if there are any changes to Oregon's Rules and Statutes prior to licensure. It is the policy of the Board that all applicants pass the Jurisprudence exam prior to issuance of a license or certificate.
Fees for applications will paid online as part of the application process. Application fees are non-refundable, and due prior to application approval.
** The first renewal duration may change slightly depending on the birth month in relation to the approval date.