Requirements for Caregivers at ALF and RCF
In 2017, the Legislature passed House Bill 3359 related to long-term care. Section 25 of HB 3359 (now codified as ORS 443.433 and OAR 411-054-0070 (5)) focuses on pre-service and in-service dementia care training for direct caregivers who work in residential care and assisted living facilities. Rules to address this law are found in Oregon Administrative Rule 411-054-0070.
OAR 411-054-0070 (5) requires that all pre-service and in-service training provided to direct care staff must be approved by a private or non-profit organization that is approved by the Department.
Three entities have been approved to review, evaluate and approve training:
To submit training for approval
Visit the links above for applications with directions on how to submit training for approval by one of these entities.
Some trainings have been pre-approved. See the table below for pre-approved trainings that do not need to be submitted for approval.
OAR 411-054-0070 sets forth the following dementia training requirements for assisted living and residential care facilities:
- Direct care staff must complete pre-service training on specific areas of dementia care and 6 hours of annual in-service dementia training.
- Pre-service training must include the following subjects:
- Education on the dementia disease process, including the progression of the disease, memory loss, psychiatric and behavioral symptoms;
- Techniques for understanding and managing symptoms, including but not limited to reducing the use of anti-psychotic medications for non-standard use;
- Strategies for addressing the social needs of persons with dementia and providing meaningful activities, and
- Information on addressing specific aspects of dementia care and ensuring the safety of residents with dementia, including, but not limited to how to: address pain, provide food and fluids; and prevent wandering and elopement
- Facilities must ensure and document that all direct care staff have completed the required pre-service dementia care training. Training certificates are portable for 2 years, meaning direct care staff can show their training certificate to a new employer and it will count for training for 2 years from the time they completed the training and demonstrated competence. However, a new employer may choose to accept the training or require new direct care staff attend their dementia training.
- Each direct care staff must complete 6 six hours of annual training on dementia care by the anniversary of their hire date.
- The dementia care training may be included in the required minimum of 12 hours in-service training required for direct care staff within residential care and assisted living facilities.
- Dementia care training must reflect current standards for dementia care and be informed by the best evidence in the care and treatment of dementia.
Some trainings have been pre-approved.
- Pre-approved trainings do not need to be submitted for approval.
- The table below shows trainings that have been pre-approved for either pre-service or in-service education.
Pre-service training package
The only pre-approved trainings that cover all the required pre-service training topics are Oregon Care Partners and CARES Health Care Interactive.
- A provider may choose to create their own pre-service package that contains some pre-approved trainings and some that are not on the pre-approved list.
- Only those parts of the pre-service training that are NOT on the pre-approved list above, such as a topic developed by the provider, need to be submitted for approval.
Frequently asked questions
What trainings must be submitted to one of the designated training entities for approval?
Trainings created by the provider, individual trainer or vendor that are not included in the above pre-approved list.
What trainings do not have to be submitted for approval?
The above pre-service and in-service trainings that are on the pre-approved list do not need to be submitted for approval.
If a provider has multi-sites that use the same curriculum, do they need to submit a separate approval request for each community?
No, multi-site organizations may seek training approval for all communities if they are using the same program or curriculum.