Skip to the main content of the page


​​​​​​In 2022, Oregon’s legislature passed SB 1536 appropriating $15,000,000 to the Oregon Department of Energy to provide rebates and grants for the purchase and installation of heat pumps and related upgrades in rental homes.

Oregon Rental Home Heat Pump Program Establishment​​​​

17 Apr 2023ODOE Submits Final Rules for Oregon Rental Home Heat Pump Program

​The Oregon Department of Energy submitted final rules​ to the Secretary of State on April 17, 2023, to establish a Oregon Rental Home Heat Pump Program​. The permanent rules are effective as of April 18, 2023. This concludes the formal rulemaking process, which included a public hearing on January 5, 2023, and a public comment period which closed on January 6, 2023.


05 Jan 2023Oregon Rental Home Heat Pump Program Public Hearing

​ODOE will hold a virtual rulemaking hearing to accept oral testimony on the draft rules for the Oregon Rental Home Heat Pump Program, created by SB 1536.

Hearing Details:

Thursday, January 5, 2023 | 3-4 p.m.

Hearing Materials:

Attendance Information:

Webinar event:
Event number: 2332 302 2332
Event password: heat (4328 from phones)


Join by phone: +1-408-418-9388 
Access code: 233 230 22332

Submitting written comments on the draft rules:

If you are unable to attend the hearing or would like to submit written comments on the draft rules, you can submit your comments by email or mail to the addresses listed below. The public comment period will close on January 6, 2023, at 5 p.m. Comments received after this date will not be considered in the rulemaking process.


Mailing address:

Oregon Department of Energy
Attention: Oregon Rental Home Heat Pump Rulemaking Team
550 Capitol St. NE, 1st Floor
Salem, OR 97301

Additional Information:

Sign up to receive future email updates about the program and the rulemaking.

For more information, contact:

​ SB 153​​6​ 

​ ​

​​​​​​​​Sign Up For Email Updates​

Questions or Comments:
James Cogle​
Rulemaking Coordinator​

disability icons To request an interpreter for the hearing impaired or accommodations for persons with disabilities, please contact the Oregon Department of Energy at least 72 hours before the meeting at
1-800-221-8035 or fax 503-373-7806. TTY users should call the Oregon Relay Service at 711.​​​​​