Skip to the main content of the page

About

​​​Commissioners and Executive Director

Established in 2011 and vested with its current authorities in 2013, the Higher Education Coordinating Commission is a 15-member, volunteer commission appointed by the Oregon Governor, and confirmed by the Senate. For information on how to apply for an appointment, please see the Office of the Governor here.

The Commission is supported by the HECC state agency, comprised of eight offices led by the Executive Director.

Executive Director

Ben Cannon

Position: Executive Director
Ben Cannon

View Profile

​​

Commissioners


Terry Cross

Position: Chair, Commissioner
Term Expires: June 30, 2023
terry.cross@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Sandy Rowe

Position: Vice Chair, Commissioner, member of the Funding and Achievement Subcommittee
Term Expires: June 30, 2025
sandy.rowe@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Rukaiyah Adams

Position: Commissioner, member of the Funding and Achievement Subcommittee
Term Expires: June 30, 2025
rukaiyah.adams@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Natalie Arnot

Position: Commissioner, university student position
Term Expires: June 30, 2024
natalie.arnot@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Vanessa Becker

Position: Commissioner, member of the Funding and Achievement Subcommittee
Term Expires: June 30, 2023
vanessa.becker@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Richard Devlin

Position: Commissioner, member of the Funding and Achievement Subcommittee
Term Expires: February 28, 2026
richard.devlin@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Helen Edwards

Position: Commissioner
Term Expires: June 30, 2023
helen.edwards@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Arnel Fajardo

Position: Commissioner, member of the Funding and Achievement Subcommittee
Term Expires: June 30, 2025
arnel.fajardo@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Greg Hamann

Position: Commissioner, member of the Funding and Achievement Subcommittee
Term Expires: June 6, 2025
gregory.hamann@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Ricardo Lujan-Valerio

Position: Commissioner
Term Expires: June 30, 2025
ricardo.lujan-valerio@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

​​​Aislyn Matas

Position: Commissioner
Term Expires: February 29, 2024
aislyn.matias@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Fernando Rojas-Galván

Position: Commissioner, community college faculty member
Term Expires: June 30, 2024
fernando.rojas-galvan@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Emily Simnitt

Position: Commissioner, university faculty position
Term Expires: June 30, 2024
emily.simnitt@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Motutama Sipelii

Position: Commissioner, graduate student position
Term Expires: February 29, 2024
motutama.sipelii@hecc.oregon.gov

View Profile

Position Vacant

Position: Commissioner, community college student position
View Profile