Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Tribal government relations


There are nine Oregon federally-recognized Indian Tribes. These Indian Tribes existed prior to the foundation of the United States of America and, thus, retain a unique legal status and provide an historic context to Oregon's natural resources. The Oregon Department of Forestry values partnerships with Oregon's Tribal Nations and recognizes their shared commitment to protect our natural resources.

Policy and intent

It is the policy of the Department to promote and enhance Government-to-Government Relations with Oregon's federally-recognized Tribal Governments during the development and implementation of Department programs that may affect Tribes. The Department's intent is to promote and strengthen inter-government relations, resolve potential concerns, and enhance the exchange of information, ideas, and resources for the greater good of all Oregonians.


  • Oregon Revised Statute 182.162 to 182.168 directs state agencies to communicate with Oregon's nine federally-recognized Tribes in development and implementation of agency programs that may affect Tribes.
  • Executive Order 96-30 regarding State/Tribal Government-to-Government Relations.
  • 2020 Government-to-Government Relations policy describes standards and responsibilities for Department employees to communicate with Tribal governments when program development and implementation may affect Tribes. Also directs employee training in Government-to-Government relations and cultural resource awareness and protection requirements.
  • 2011 Forestry Program for Oregon. The Board of Forestry will work to achieve the objective for Goal B: (5) Develop and implement forest policies potentially affecting federally-recognized Oregon tribes in communication with those affected tribes in a government-to-government relationship, consistent with state statutes.