Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Department of Human Services Search Site

Crisis Support and Safety Planning

Crisis and emergencies 

Crisis Lines

Other Resources​

Take immediate action:

  • Search t​horoughly around the home
  • Call their cell phone
  • Call or check with school, friends and neighbors
  • If they work, call their employer

If they are not located:

  • Notify the child's ODHS caseworker
  • Report to your local law enforcement agency

​​Guide: Reporting Missing Children in Foster Care

855-503-SAFE (7233)
Call to report suspected child abuse.

All citizens have a responsibility to prevent child abuse and protect children.

Resou​rce Parents, Relative Resource Parents, and their caregiving employees or volunteers are in a unique position to be aware of when a child reports potential abuse and, in turn, must report these allegations.

These tools will assist Resource Parents, Relative Resource Parents and their caregiving employees and volunteers to understand the responsibilities of Mandatory Reporting and the process that takes place once an allegation of abuse or neglect has been made.


In a major crisis or disaster, local child welfare offices need to know where all children in care are located. Oregon resource parents must contact 211 within 24 hours of an emergency or disaster.​

​​Contact 211 within 24 hours

Be ready to give this information:

  • Child's name
  • County or office of case management
  • Child's location and situation
  • Telephone numbers and address where the child and family can be reached

If you must evacuate:

  • Go to a shelter that has been set up by your county emergency manager, or go to a place that is safely out of the disaster.
  • After you get there, contact 211 within 24 hours.​ ​​​

Printable resource sheet: English  |  Españ​ol  |  русский

Be sure to keep your emergency contacts up-to-date. If your emergency contact changes, let your ​certifier know within 24 hours of the change.