Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Vehicle Appraiser Certificate

General Information

A Vehicle Appraiser Certificate allows a person to assess the value of vehicles.

To Apply

For a new Vehicle Appraiser Certificate, you must:  

  • Complete a Vehicle Appraiser Certificate Application (Form # 6610);
  • Give an explanation in the 'Experience' section of the application and attach proof of two years combined work experience in any of the following areas:
    • Estimating new or used vehicles;
    • Doing repair or insurance estimating;
    • Running a wrecking or salvage yard; and
    • Carrying out sheriff's bills of sale;
  • Pay the application fee of $100.
A qualified applicant for a vehicle appraiser certificate my substitute a certificate of completion of the Vehicle Appraiser Education Program established under OAR 735-158-0005 for proof of work experience.
Submit your completed application, supporting documents and payment by mail or in person at DMV Headquarters, Business Regulation section.
Service counter hours are 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM, Monday thru Friday (except for statewide and holiday closures). 
Contact DMV Business Regulation at 503-945-5052 for more information.


Certificates are valid for three years. To renew your certificate, submit a completed Vehicle Appraiser Certificate Application (Form # 6610) and pay the $100 fee. If you don't renew the certificate within 30 days after it expires, you must reapply and meet the qualifications as a new application.

Rules and Laws

Use the links below to go directly to the applicable rules and laws about Vehicle Appraisers:

​​​Contact Us

DMV Business Regulation Section
East Annex Building
1965 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Mailing Address:
Business Regulation
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Phone: 503-945-5052 Business Licensing
Phone: 503-945-5281 Dealer Investigations
DMV Business Regulation can accept cash, debit/credit cards, and checks in the exact amount of the transaction.
8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday, except for Thursdays 9 AM - 4:30 PM.​

DMV has moved the online DEALER NOTICES services to a new location. Go to​ to access all of DMV’s online services. 

If you have saved a link to the Dealer Notices location, please update the URL.
Dealer Related Links