Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Become a Dismantler

General Information

A Dismantler Certificate authorizes you to:
  • Run a business buying, selling, dealing in or processing vehicles for the purpose of destroying, salvaging or substantially altering in form; or
  • Run a business of dealing in or processing vehicle major component parts that are stocked in the inventory of the business. A certificate is not required as long as the buying, selling, dealing in, or processing of major component parts is not part of a business selling new vehicles or repairing vehicles. 

How to Qualify/Apply  

In order to qualify and apply, you must:

  • Complete the Application (Form # 373);
  • Get city, county and/or local government approval of your business location;
  • Supply a plat map or hand drawn map of your business location;
  • Secure a $100,000 surety bond;
  • Pay the $500 application fee; and
  • Submit your completed application, supporting materials and payment by mail or in person at DMV Headquarters, Business Regulation section.

Change the Business Name and/or Address

Before conducting business under a new name, or if the business relocates, you must submit a Correction Application (Form 373B). 


A Dismantler Certificate is valid for one year from the date of issuance. You must reapply every year. To reapply, complete all of the steps in the How to Qualify/Apply section above.

Rules and Laws about Dismantlers

Use the links below to go directly to the applicable statutes:

Note: In using the links above, you may need to scroll down to find the correct ORS or OAR reference.

​​​Contact Us

DMV Business Regulation Section
East Annex Building
1965 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Mailing Address:
Business Regulation
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Phone: 503-945-5052 Business Licensing
Phone: 503-945-5281 Dealer Investigations
DMV Business Regulation can accept cash, debit/credit cards, and checks in the exact amount of the transaction.
8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday, except for Thursdays 9 AM - 4:30 PM.​

DMV has moved the online DEALER NOTICES services to a new location. Go to​ to access all of DMV’s online services. 

If you have saved a link to the Dealer Notices location, please update the URL.
Dealer Related Links