Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Disabled Person Parking Permits

Stop_COVID.png

Disabled Person Parking Permits are available at no charge to drivers with disabilities - or drivers who transport people with disabilities - including but not limited to:

  • Severely limited mobility;
  • Substantially reduced or loss of vision; and
  • Conditions that prevent walking more than 200 feet, including but not limited to:

    • A chronic heart condition;
    • Emphysema;
    • Arthritis;
    • Rheumatism; or
    • Ulcerative colitis or related bowel disorder.
Disabled Person Parking Permits are:

  • For use by and belong to the individual for whom DMV issues the permit regardless of age. 
  • Not associated with a particular vehicle.
  • Only for use when the person with the disability is traveling in the vehicle.
Disabled Veteran license plates do not qualify the holder to park in a Disabled Person Parking place.  Doing so risks law enforcement contact and consequences.  If you want to park legally in a disabled person parking place, please apply for a permit.

 

Individual and Wheelchair User, valid for eight years

Your doctor must certify on the application that you qualify as a person with a disability. See below for application and requirements.

Wounded Warrior (Sticker for Individual placard), valid for eight years

Requires qualification for an Individual permit; a service-connected disability alone is insufficient. With your application, you must also provide both:
  • A letter from the Veterans’ Administration indicating 50% or greater service connected disability; and
  • A document reflecting discharge status other than dishonorable issued by any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States or the United States Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
​See below for application and requirements.

Family, valid for eight years

For families with more than one family member with a disability as certified by their doctor. See below for application and requirements. 

Program, valid for eight years

For programs that regularly operate at least one vehicle for the transportation of persons with disabilities such as a nonprofit organization, a residential care or assisted living facility, a transportation service for persons with a disability, or an adult foster care home.  Requires a business account with DMV.  Application information below.​

Temporary, valid for up to six months

For drivers who are temporarily disabled for less than four years.  Must reapply if needed after six months. See below  for application and requirements.

Foreign Visitor, valid for up to 30 days 

For drivers with disabilities visiting from outside the US who hold a disabled parking permit in their country of passport issuance. See below for application and requirements. ​

Decals, valid for the duration of Individual permit

For placement on golf carts, motorcycles or similar vehicles for drivers already holding an individual permit. See below ​​for application and requirements.
The applicant/future permit holder – individual or family – needs:
  • A valid Oregon Driver License, ID Card, or Parking Identification Card (see application below); and
  • A completed application:
  • ​The Certificate of Disability - included on the form - completed and signed by the applicant’s physician.

For a Wounded Warrior application, in addition to the above for an Individual, you must also provide both:

  • A letter from the Veterans’ Administration indicating 50% or greater service connected disability; and
  • A document reflecting discharge status other than dishonorable issued by any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States or the United States Department of Veterans’ Affairs.

To request a Program Disability Parking Placard Application, call: 

Driver Transactions Unit at 503-945-5033 
​​OR
Customer Assistance at 503-945-5000
Any of the following occurs:
  • A permit holder is deceased. DMV receives the deceased notifications electronically each month from the Oregon Center for Health Statistics and Vital Records. 
  • The permit holder surrenders their Oregon driver license, permit, or ID card in another jurisdiction.
  • DMV determines the permit was issued under fraudulent circumstances (see Fraudulent Use below).
  • The person, program, or family no longer qualifies for the permit.
The permit must be returned to DMV in any of these cases.

​Permits cannot be used to park where:

  • Parking is only permitted for 30 minutes or less;
  • No parking is allowed;
  • No late evening or overnight parking is allowed; or
  • Parking is reserved for special types of vehicles.

Misuse of a disabled parking permit is a Class C traffic violation per Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 811.625​. A second or subsequent conviction is a Class A traffic violation. 
  • Because not all disabilities are visible – such as a breathing or heart disorder – DMV requires certification from a licensed medical provider in order to obtain a permit.
  • When someone receives a license or identification card in another state, Oregon DMV is notified by that state and any disabled parking permits that were issued to that person are automatically invalidated.
  • DMV receives deceased notifications electronically each month from the Oregon Center for Health Statistics and Vital Records and invalidates permits associated with the deceased individual.  
To report misuse, contact your local law enforcement agency.
I see a person that walks just fine using a disabled parking permit. Why does DMV issue to people that can walk just fine? 
Because not all disabilities are visible – such as a breathing or heart disorder – DMV requires certification from a medical provider in order to obtain a permit.

Someone I know is using a disabled parking permit that is not theirs.  What should I do?

Misuse of a disabled parking permit is a Class C traffic violation per Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 811.625. A second or subsequent conviction is a Class A traffic violation.  Contact your local law enforcement agency to learn where and how to report it.

My parents moved to another state and got a new license and disabled parking permit there. Now, another family member is using my parent’s Oregon disabled parking permit.  

When someone receives a license or identification card (credential) in another state, they must surrender their Oregon credential. Oregon DMV is then notified by that state, and any disabled parking permits that were issued to that person are automatically invalidated. DMV only accepts notice of Oregon credential surrender from the person of record or the issuing state. Contact your local law enforcement agency to learn where and how to report the misuse.

A family member who has a disabled parking placard has recently passed.  What do I need to do? 

DMV receives the deceased notifications electronically each month from the Oregon Center for Health Statistics and Vital Records.  However, you are welcome to notify DMV of the permit holder’s death by sending a copy of one of the documents listed below to:

DMV Driver Transactions Unit 
Fax: 503-945-7981 
Mail: 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314

Acceptable proof of death includes:

  • ​Death certificate,
  • Court document,
  • Obituary notice,
  • Funeral or memorial notice,
  • Police report or other notice from law enforcement,
  • Signed statement containing deceased person’s name and date of birth, or
  • Returned license with signed note.


Frequently Asked Questions