Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

License Renewals

NOTICE: The following licenses and certificates will expire on January 1, 2024:

  1. Funeral Service Practitioner (renewal fee $160)
  2. Embalmer (renewal fee $160)
  3. Combination Funeral Service Practitioner/Embalmer (renewal fee $320)
  4. Apprentice Funeral Service Practitioner (renewal fee $25)
  5. Apprentice Embalmer (renewal fee $25)

As of November 1, 2023, renewal fees are due and payable. You can renew your license or certificate(s) and pay the applicable renewal fees online through your Licensee Portal account. Payment can also be sent in the form of a check or money order by mail to our office:

Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (OMCB)
Attn: License Renewal
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 430
Portland, OR 97232

Here is the link to the Licensee Portal

  • To begin the renewal process, first select the “License Renewal" feature from your Licensee Portal account.
    • Then, follow the steps to complete the renewal process.

If your renewal is not submitted and fees are not paid by December 31, 2023, then your license or certificate(s) will lapse. A $50.00 reinstatement fee will be applied to any licenses or certificates renewed after December 31, 2023.

**If your renewal is not submitted and fees are not paid by March 31, 2024, then your license or certificate(s) will permanently lapse and will no longer be eligible for renewal.**

As our agency continues to fine-tune, modernize and streamline our various processes, here are a few things to know about the renewal process.  

  • OMCB no longer prints renewed licenses or certificates
    • Licensees will be notified by email once their submitted renewal has been approved. Once approved, licensees can print their renewed license and/or certificate(s) from their Licensee Portal account.
  • To print your own license and/or certificates from your Licensee Portal account:
    • Start by selecting the “Wallet Card and Wall Certificate" feature.
    • Follow the prompt to download and print your renewed license or certificate(s).

Additionally, here are some things to consider before printing:

  • The address that appears on your license or certificates will be your mailing address.
  • You can change the address that is printed by updating your mailing address in the “Personal Information" feature from your Licensee Portal account.
  • Facilities must post certificates of apprenticeship in a conspicuous location for public viewing. Other individual licenses must be available for inspection upon request.

We appreciate your patience during the renewal process.  

It is not currently an option to renew licenses for Preneed Salespersons. These licenses will expire on February 29, 2024. We will send a notice regarding the renewal process for this license type at the end of December.

If you have any questions or need help regarding the renewal process, please contact our Office & Licensing Manager, Ryan Christopher, by email at

License Expiration Dates and Renewal Cycles

  • Facility Licenses, including Funeral Establishments, Crematories, Cemeteries, and Alternative Disposition Companies are valid for two years, and expire on December 31 of even years.
  • Funeral Service Practitioner and Embalmer Licenses are valid for two years and expire on December 31 of odd years.
  • Preneed Salesperson Licenses are valid for two years and expire on February 28 of even years.
  • Apprentice Licenses are valid for one year and expire on December 31 every year.
  • Death Care Consultant Licenses are valid for 2 years and expire 2 years after they are issued.
For individual licenses, failure to renew by the expiration date results in a $50 late fee. If you fail to renew within three months of the expiration date, your license will permanently lapse, and you will need to go through the full initial licensing process again.

Renewal will be available during the month prior to the expiration date for each license type. Licensees will be sent notification by mail shortly before renewals open. If you become licensed midway through a licensing cycle, the fee is not prorated.