Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Agency Fees

The Marine Board is a fee-based agency and does not receive any general fund dollars. 

The revenue generated from:

  • Motorboat title and registrations
  • Waterway access permits
  • Out-of-state aquatic invasive species permits
  • Outfitter Guide and Charter licensing
  • Boating safety education (boater education card)
...all go back to boaters through

  • Boating facility and education grants
  • Contracts with county Sheriff's Offices and Oregon
    State Police for on-water enforcement
  • Environmental and education programs

Your fees also support:

  • Aquatic invasive species inspection stations along Oregon's borders
  • Contracts to remove, dismantle, recycle, and dispose of abandoned and derelict boats

Thanks to you, we have sustainable recreational boating in Oregon! Your boating dollars go a long way. Oregon receives federal funding based on the number of registered motorboats. We also receive gas tax revenue to support programs for you.



             

 Agency Fees

​​Trans​action Type Fee Amount​​ ​Required Documents/Info
​Title ​$75

Original Certificate of Title for a boat.

​Late Oregon Title Transfer ​​$25 ​Late penalty fee assessed for Oregon-titled boat when applicant applies more than 30 days from the date of release by the former owner.

​Lost/Replacement Title (no owner or lender change) ​$25 ​Applicant must be the current owner. Lost or Replacement Title Application with signature verification.

​​Lost/Replacement Title (with owner or lender change)​ $75​ ​Original Certificate of Title for a boat or completed Lost or Replacement Boat Title Application.

​Boat Registration Fee Schedule​ ​$5 plus $5.95 per foot. Registration is issued on a 2-year calendar basis. Renewal cycle begins November 1st of the expiration year to receive full, 2-year registration.

​Replacement Certificate of Number ​$15 ​Registration must be current. Certificate of Number (registration card) only.

​Replacement Certificate of Number AND Registration Decals ​$15 ​Registration must be current.
 


​Transactio​n Type​ ​Fee Amo​unt ​Required Documents/Info
​1-week non-motorized boat permit ​$5 ​ONLY available for purchase through ODFW's eLicensing system. (+$2 transaction fee)
​Non-motorized boat
(Including out-of-state) 1-Calendar year permit
​$17 ​+$1.50 portal provider fee when purchased through the Boat Oregon online store
​Non-motorized boat 2-Calendar year permit ​$30 +$1.50 portal provider fee when purchased through the Boat Oregon online store

One permit per boat 10 feet long and longer. Permit is transferrable to other non-motorized boats. Children 13 and younger are exempt. See Boat Rental Business section below for non-motorized boat rental business discounts.

​​Transaction Type ​Fee Amo​unt ​Required Documents / Info
​Out-​of-State motorized boat permit and sailboats over 12 feet ​$20 ​Out-of-state motorboats are required to stop at mandatory boat inspection stations when entering Oregon. An out-of-state Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention P​ermit is required if operating on Oregon waterways.

If bringing non-motorized boat(s) into Oregon, a Waterway Access Permit is required (See purchasing options above). 
 



​​Trans​acti​on Typ​​e​
​Fee A​​mount​​
​Required Documents/Info
Motorized Boat Rental Business
Registration Discount

​​$90 and $10 per boat
​Registered rental businesses are eligible to receive motorboat registration discounts (valid for 2 calendar years) if holding 5 or more boats ready for rental.


N​on-Motorized Rental Busin​ess Registration 
 ​
Fre​e Business 
Regi​strati​on
​​
​Beginning January 1, 2020, any individual or entity renti​ng or leas​ing boats must register with the agency. Registration is required every two years and allows the agency to send along pertinent boating safety and equipment information that can be passed along to customers.
​Non-Motorized Rental Business 
Waterway Access 
Permit Discount 
(includes sailboats 10 feet
long but under 12 feet)​​​

​$90


$165


$300


Business renting 6-10 non-motorized boats 10 feet long and longer

Business renting 11-20 non-motorized boats 10 feet long and longer

Business renting 21 or more non-motorized boats 10 feet long or longer

 

​  

​Transaction ​Type ​​Fee Amount ​Required Do​cuments/Info
​​Boating Safety 
E​ducation Card
​$20 ​Course completion certificate from online or classroom course or equivalency exam provider AND Boater Education Card Application
​Replacement Boating Safety Education Card ​$16 ​Lost, stolen, or damaged cards can be replaced online using our online store.  Pay online today and print a temporary card so you can get back out on the water right away!

If you prefer to replace your card through the mail, please fill out our request form to have an application and temporary card emailed to you.​

​​Towed Watersports Education and Endorsement 
(required if operating
and engaging in towed watersports in the Newberg Pool - Willamette River, (RM 55 - 26.6)​

​$20 valid for two calendar years
​Must already possess a Boating Safety Education Card and apply for the Towed Watersport Certificates (decals) verifying the maximum load weight of the boat does not exceed 5,500 pounds.
The replacement fee for the set of decals for the Towed Watersports Endorsement

​$15
​Must be previously approved for the TWS education card and endorsement.
​Additional set of Towed Watersports decals per boat
​$15
​Must be previously approved for the TWS education card and endorsement.
 *Go to your Boat Oregon Store account to print out a replacement for your TWS education card.

​Transa​ction Type Fee Amount​ ​​Required Documents/Info
Annual Re​gistrati​on​ ​$150 ​Annual registration is valid per calendar year. Fees f​or non-Oregon residents may vary.​
​Replacement decals or licenses ​$5
​Non-Resident Hunt Tag Program
$75
$25

​Annual fee for calendar year.
Initial application fee.
​Charter Boats carrying more than 7 passengers $50

$100
​Annual fee for calendar year for Oregon Titled vessels. 

US Coast Guard documented vessels. Fees for non-Oregon residents may vary. 
 

 

A $1.50 portal provider fee will be assessed for each online transaction. If you're renewing multiple boats, click on the Account Tab and add all renewals to your cart before payment to avoid additional charges. You will go to a secure checkout page: https://securecheckout-uat.cdc.nicusa.com/.



OSMB Refund Policy

All fees are non-refundable. OAR 250-010-0058

Marine Board Fulfillment Policy

The applicant’s debit or credit card is charged at the time of application. A title, registration, or other credentials will be issued when the application is complete, fully evaluated, and is determined that all the requirements have been met. 

Marine Board Merchant Card Policy

Merchant Card Policy:
Marine Board agency staffers are not authorized to enter debit or credit card information into the system. Applicants must originate all financial transactions related to their application for title, registration, guide, or other credentials.  The Marine Board system does not store or keep any financial information entered into the system.